Today’s look

My good friend Krystal stopped by my place today with her lovely little girl. Our daughters played together while we played with makeup! Most of my friends are getting used to being my “makeup guinea pigs” (for lack of a nicer term…. Actually, let’s come up with a better term right now. “Makeup trial lovelies” sounds better.) I am serious about learning as much as I can, and applying makeup on as many faces as possible so I can better hone the craft of makeup artistry.  I’m lucky to have a whole whack of gorgeous, willing women to indulge me!

Krystal is no exception. She’s a newlywed, and she definitely still has that bridal glow. With naturally blonde locks, sparkly blue eyes, fair skin and a luminous smile, Krystal is a lovely young woman. Inspired by her recent wedding, I decided to give her a look that was natural enough to not overwhelm her (she’s not used to wearing a lot of makeup- and she certainly doesn’t need it) but strong enough to bring out her best features and underscore her natural, earthy beauty.

I think this would make a lovely bridal look. Doesn’t she look gorgeous?

Image

I used the following products to achieve this look:

Eyes: Physicians formula shimmer strips in “hazel eyes”,  lightest shade all over lid, and medium brown shade in crease and outer corners, as well as smudged lightly on lower lash line. (I know Krystal has blue eyes, but I just felt the neutral champagne and brown would be lovely on her, and I’m not one to subscribe to the idea that only certain eye colours can wear certain shades.) Coral shade from Chickaboom‘s 88 shimmer palette, Maybelline Master duo eyestudio liner in bronzed shimmer on upper lash line, Revlon 3D volume Photoready mascara in black, Painted Earth shimmery highlighter from the concealer palette on brow bones, Annabelle eye define in glow (a sheer white wash along the waterline, to brighten Krystal’s eyes and make them appear larger). Lips: Annabelle lipliner in demure, Revlon Vital Radiance lipstick in pink shimmer. cheeks: Key Botanicals mineral blush in innocent, Key Botanicals mineral blush in petal, Painted Earth hightligher from concealer palette. face: 100 percent pure luminous primer, Painted Earth Perfect Every Thyme baked mineral foundation in dover beige, painted earth concealer from concealer palette (second row, fourth shade in)

Brushes:

Ecotools concealer brush, angled crease brush, eye shader brush, foundation brush and angled eyeliner brush

Image

photo-6

4 thoughts on “Today’s look

Leave a Reply

