Dusky Rose/Mauve romantic look for wedding

**The look and swatches are at the bottom of this post**

It’s that time of year again! Weddings are everywhere, and I’ve been working on perfecting my look for a specific union that my husband and I are attending this July in British Columbia. It’s the wedding of his cousin, whom he’s very close to. They’re more like bothers than cousins, so it’s a very special one. Not to mention, it’s being held at a very posh resort, in a lush private garden. In other words, I have to look classy, pretty and put together.

The dress I have my eye on is cream with lavender flowers, so I’ve been dreaming up some makeup looks that will harmonize with that. I’ve finally come up with one that I’m in love with. I wanted to wait until I had the dress to do a full look, but I’ve got to share this makeup look because I love it so much!

It’s like a dusky, rosy mauve look and I think it’s romantic and soft, but with a nice pop of refreshing floral colour.

I started with Painted Earth mineral powder concealer in Saffron, to correct the dark circles under my eyes and small areas of redness. Works wonders!). Since I didn’t use any foundation, I went over any imperfections and anywhere I used the mineral concealer with my Revlon photo ready concealer in fair, which I’m not crazy about, but I love stick concealers and it’s the only one I have at the moment!

I used Painted Earth (yes, I know, I’m obsessed, but when something is this good and has healthy ingredients, I’m smitten) Mona Lisa’s eyes baked mineral shadow duo in Matte Mauve/Matte Pink as my eyeshadow colours, sweeping the pink all over my lid to my brow bone and applying the mauve to my outer “v”.  I started with the flat end of this amazing Painted Earth brush, then blended with the pointed end. (Softest brush ever, such smooth application and ZERO shedding!). I love this shadow duo, and I’m so glad I have the perfect opportunity to wear it. I fell in love the moment I unboxed it, and I’m thrilled that the swatches and application matches the colours in the packaging.

I used those shadows along my lower lash line, then I used my Revlon ColourStay gel eyeliner in Brown along my upper lash lines and about 1/4 of my lower lash line. I used my Painted Earth SuperLash mascara in black. On my cheeks, I used Painted Earth baked blush in Rose Gold  (This blush is AMAZING and highly pigmented. You get a lot of product and a little goes a long way. I can’t wait to try more shades),and highlighted my cheekbones with the blush glow from my  Complete Face palette (bronze). For my lips, I went a little adventurous and used the Luxury Matte lipstick from Painted Earth in Merlot.I typically stick to my peaches, light pinks, nudes and classic reds, so this purplish shade was a departure for me, but I’m actually loving it!

Swatches from wrist to elbow: Matte Pink, Matte Mauve eyeshadows, Rose Gold Blush, Blush Glow,Luxury Matte Lipstick in Merlot

swatches

The loot: (The lipstick is in a big palette so I thought I’d do a closeup. The blush glow (which I highlighted my cheekbones with) is in the silver compact, the lightest colour  in the  row of two on top of the three shadows)

merlot loot

The look:

mauvystar

roman

I love this look and can’t wait to rock it at the wedding!

Beautiful love,

The Elegant Rebel

23 thoughts on “Dusky Rose/Mauve romantic look for wedding

    1. Thank you so much, Michele! I’m very happy that I can use playful colours now without worrying about cancerous or toxic ingredients. Since I started using Painted Earth products, so many doors have opened for me in terms of cosmetics. My skin is super sensitive and most brands that are more natural don’t have a big colour selection, so finding a company that boasts non-toxic ingredients and great colour selection is like striking gold!

      By the way, if you ever order anything, make sure in the “comments” section of your order you mention that I sent you and that you’re a beauty blogger. Joanne, the C.E.O, is wonderful and will send you a bunch of extra treats! It’s such good quality makeup and skin care!

      1. Oh really?! That’s amazing to know! My skin isn’t the most sensitive, but it does react to many different products. I’m going to go look at the company’s products right now! Thanks for the tips 🙂

  1. Even for skin that isn’t sensitive, so much of hat is put in makeup is harmful! Everything we put on our skin is soaked up into our bodies. I wish I’d known when I was younger because a lot of the chemicals in makeup actually age you faster, eek!! It’s really hard to eliminate it entirely, but starting with a natural few pieces here is a really good thing to do for yourself! By the way, I sent you an email asking you to collaborate with me!!!! And sorry if I seem preachy in this comment! Xo

    1. Right back at ya! I do a collaboration post on Tuesdays where I suggest a specific look (usually a celeb look) for a blogger to copy and they do the same for me, we do it and make a post of it! I would love to do a Tuesday collaboration with you!

    1. Oh my gosh, thank you! I highly, highly recommend Painted Earth. If you order anything, write in the “comment” section of your order that I sent you and that you’re a beauty blogger and you’ll get a bunch of extra goodies! I’m super obsessed! Amazing eyeshadows, without all the toxic ingredients that most makeup has. Thanks for following me, I followed you too and I’ve really been enjoying your blog! You’ve got a great, quirky and funny writing style and seem like a super fun girl!

      1. Oh, wow! That’s awesome! And I am definitely all for non-toxic ingredients too. 🙂

        Thank you for the follow and the sweet compliments! You made me a little emotional! :’) I love your blog and you are so knowledgeable! I look forward to reading more of your posts! 😀

        P.S. I’m going to British Columbia in July also! At the beginning of the month. I hope you have a great time at the wedding!!

Leave a Reply

