Mini review and introduction to Vasanti cosmetics

Hi, dolls!

Recently I was makeup shopping at Shoppers Drug Mart, and the cosmetologist was talking about Vasanti cosmetics, a Canadian company that makes high end paraben free products (a big selling point for me!)

I was intrigued by the brand, and excited when the cosmetologist explained that there would be free makeovers offered at Shoppers Drug Mart, by a certified makeup artist using Vasanti products. I immediately signed up, and my appointment is this Saturday. I plan on bringing my camera and documenting the process for my blog. I’ll also include a mini interview with the makeup artist, so if any of you have particular questions you’d like me to ask, do let me know in a comment.

Of course, as soon as I got home, I went to Vasanticosmetics.com to browse their products. I couldn’t help ordering a couple of things, and they arrived today!

Before I get into my review and photos, here’s a bit about Vasanti, from their website:

ABOUT: Created by three Canadian women and quickly becoming one of the most sought after Canadian-made beauty brands, Vasanti Cosmetics will have you looking and feeling radiant! Vasanti’s unique product range gets you glowing with skincare formulated to nurture and revive your complexion and a full range of makeup  and foundation shades that brighten your skin, whether it’s porcelain or deep.

OUR PHILOSOPHY: We set out to develop a beauty brand with a focus on skin enhancing products that could meet the diverse needs of our customers world-wide. Our formulas are engineered to add radiance to your skin, look and feel natural on and are made with the highest quality raw materials. As our brand continues to grow and evolve, our customers are still our #1 source of inspiration! We want everyone to celebrate their natural beauty, embrace their unique characteristics and find what they love about their looks.

Vasanti Cosmetics makeup and skin care products are currently sold online at vasanticosmetics.com amazon.comamazon.co.uk,sears.cawell.ca and ebeauty.ca and in select Shoppers Drug Mart, Rexall, Lawtons and Pharmasave locations across Canada.Click here to enter your postal code to find a location near you.

Vasanti Cosmetics does not test on animals.

What I ordered:

Image

Kajal Extreme Intense eye pencil in Extreme black

ImageImage

and Ultra Luxe Lipstick with Peptide technology in Peru (described as Nude Pink beige)

Image

Swatches:

Image

This is just a mini, first impressions review. I’ll be including more with my makeover post this weekend.

My impressions so far:

Kajal intense eyeliner: Honestly, this liner exceeded my expectations. The colour is every bit as intense as the name suggests, the formula is waterproof, and it has a wonderful creamy consistency that is easy to blend. I found it remarkably simple to achieve a winged out cat-eye with this liner, (which, if I’m being honest, is one of my biggest beauty challenges) and was impressed with the built in sharpener as well as the smudger on the opposite end. Two tools built into one liner? Yes, please! The smudger worked really well for blending and creating that feathered smoked-out look under my lower lash line. (See below for photos of the look I created with these two products- I even used the lipstick as a cream blush and it worked perfectly!)) So far, I’m super impressed with this product and would recommend it to anyone. It retails for $18, which is definitely a bit hefty for an eyeliner, but I don’t regret dropping that much cash on a paraben-free product that is such good quality. I should also note that a little goes a long way; one swipe delivers a lot of payoff, and it’s quite long, so I’m confident it’s going to last. And when you factor in that you’re basically getting three things (a gorgeous eyeliner, a sharpener and a smudging tool), I’d say it’s a fair price.

Lipstick: From the looks of the photo on the website, I was expecting a very light nude, and I would describe this colour as more of a terra cotta/brownish nude, but I know that also has to do with my colouring. That being said, it is a gorgeous shade that works well with my skin tone, and it has a creamy, non-greasy consistency and beautiful shine. I find it to be moisturizing and rich in pigment. I’ll update on the wear when I’ve had it for a little bit longer and have had a chance to wear it out, but so far I’m very pleased. If my first wear of this lipstick is anything to go by, it’s well worth the $15.

Overall, I’m very happy with my purchases and am excited to see more and learn more about the company on Saturday. I’ve got nothing negative to say about Vasanti thus far, and I have a feeling that’s how it’s going to stay.

Here’s me wearing the eyeliner and lipstick together. I really like this look!

Image

DSC_0116

I hope you’ve enjoyed this mini review.

Beautiful, new makeup love,

Stephanie

28 thoughts on “Mini review and introduction to Vasanti cosmetics

      1. Aw, I love freckles. I always tell him his freckles are sexy because I know that he struggled with it as well and also he was overweight as a child. One time he even dyed his hair brown to be like everyone else! I was like NOOO. lol

      2. I have had my hair every colour you can imagine and only started letting my natural colour come in over the last few years. In grade school, these two girls harassed me all the time and kept telling me how ugly the colour was and that I should dye it. Every time someone said it was pretty, they would tell me that it was a lie, and that that person had only complimented me because they wanted me to leave my hair as it was so I would continue to be ugly. But they insisted they were being honest with me and telling me to dye it because they cared about me. Eventually, after hearing it every day, I caved. Took me years to shake it off.

      3. Little girls are bitches, I remember those days. I always felt like I was very nice and quiet, but there were always those girls trying to bring me down. Your hair is awesome because it is different. I’ve always wanted to be different, so I started dying my hair two years ago. I regret it now, because I miss my bland ligh ash brown hair now. I can’t seem to find it in a bottle, it always turns out a bit off, like too red or too golden, never my natural shade! So frustrating.

  1. Sounds great! I’ll take a look and see if they ship worldwide 😀 You got me interested! Your look is gorgeous, you are so beautiful ❤

    1. Oh my gosh, thank you! A good camera, good lighting and good makeup work wonders! I’m 33, so I’m starting to get self conscious about signs of aging and my skin definitely isn’t what it used to be. Thank heaven for good cosmetics and skin care!!

      1. 33, really? Wouldn’t have guessed, you amaze me I could have lived with the impression that you are 20 something, less than 25 that is 😀

    1. Thanks Miss Tori! The staying power is awesome so far! It’s very humid here and I’ve been sweating but my liner hasn’t budged! So impressive. And yeah, it’s among the blackest I’ve tried!

  2. I LOVE VASANTI COSMETICS. I HAVE COUPLE OF HER LIPSTICKS LIKE PERU, NEPAL, & MOROCCO, VERY PIGMENTED AND LONG LASTING I ALSO HAVE 2 OF HER TINTED LIPBALMS IN BAHAMAS. I RECENTLY PURCHASE VASANTI BRIGHTEN UP SCRUB, VERY GOOD STUFF. I ALSO WANT TO TRY HER KAJAL EXTREME IN EITHER BLUE OR BROWN, BLACK IS TOO MUCH FOR MY LIKING.

Leave a Reply

