Eco-Friendly Friday featuring Cheeky Cosmetics!

Welcome to the second installment of this new and exciting feature! The idea behind this bi-weekly post is to showcase brands and products that adhere to the David Suzuki Dirty Dozen list of cosmetic ingredients to avoid, which you can (and should!) read all about here.

I’ve been seeking out exciting brands that make all-natural cosmetics to feature, and this week I’m thrilled to bring you a fabulous find; Cheeky Cosmetics. Based in the beautiful Okanagan Valley of British Columbia, Canada, Cheeky Cosmetics was founded and created by a lovely woman by the name of Chantal. Chantal created the brand out of a desire to offer cosmetics that were not only fun and colourful, but organic and safe for the environmentally and health-concious population. Armed with a mathematics degree, Chantal is able to keep up with ingredient safety reports, which enables her to maintain the highest quality and safest makeup possible.

I’m aware that there is a certain stigma attached to natural makeup. It involves the misinformed idea that makeup that is all-natural doesn’t perform. This is simply not the case. While it’s true that I have indeed tried several natural brands that perform poorly, I have also done some deep digging and found absolute gems that produce high quality, stunning cosmetics that are completely free of toxins.

Is Cheeky Cosmetics one of those beloved brands? You bet your rosy cheeks it is.

Here’s why.

My package:

I ordered a full size lip gloss in the colour Ambrosia, and received that as well as ten samples, including their mineral powder foundation, eye shadows, a blush, a bronzer, and an all-over glow. Everything arrived within a week of placing my order. Impressive.

The gloss: $16, (8mL)

I will never be without Cheeky Cosmetics lip gloss again. This shade in particular is a stunning medium rose, with very pigmented colour and a beautiful, non-sticky shine. One of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to lip gloss is tacky, thick, stickiness, so this one scores points for a great, feather-light feel and a nice, semi-creamy texture. I bite my lips a lot when I’m under stress, and lately I’ve been pretty stressed out, so I appreciate when a gloss or lipstick doesn’t settle into my “bite marks” or fine lines. Not only did I get that in this gloss, but it actually seemed to reduce the flaws on my lips, probably because the formula is so conditioning. There is also a mild tingle and a really lovely minty taste to it. The colour is just perfect. It’s really versatile in that you can wear it well with a neutral eye or rock a smokey eye with it. I find it to be a dreamy, romantic shade. I can’t wait to try more colours.

The ingredients:

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Oil*, D-alpha Tocopherol (Vit. E), ± Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide

*Certified Organic

Image

Swatches and photos of me wearing the gloss are at the bottom of the post, in a complete Cheeky look.

The rest of the items I’m going to talk about were very small samples, so these are first impressions, and I won’t be including product photos, but am wearing all of them in the finished look at the very bottom of the post. Swatches are also below, but I apologize for the lack of quality in them – I didn’t want to put much into the swatches because I only had enough product for a couple of applications. And these are just way too good to waste!

Eye Shadows: $14, full size (5 gram jar)

I received a few colours, but the ones I have tried are Evening gown and Moroccan Sunset. Both are already among my all-time favourite shadows. Evening Gown is a shimmering pale yellow-gold and Moroccan Sunset is a beautiful sparkling rosey bronze. As I said, these are already two of my most loved shadows ever. The colour payoff is unlike any I’ve ever seen,  the shimmer is out of this world, and they are some of the most true-to-colour eye shadows I’ve used. What you see in the package is exactly what you get in your swatch, and what you swatch is right in line with what you get on your lids.

While fallout is always expected in loose shadows, these had surprisingly less than most others I’ve tried.  I’m not sure why this is, perhaps it’s partly because I’ve learned how to apply this type of eye shadow better. Either way, I’m happy! There is a little bit of fallout, but nothing unmanageable or frustrating. I usually do my eye makeup first when I’m using loose shadow anyhow, because there’s nothing worse than applying your perfect face makeup and having your eye shadow sneeze all over it! (Not that you really have much to worry about when using these, though.)

I wore these together for a full seven hours, and the colour had hardly faded at all by the end of that time. There was also no noticeable creasing, smudging or flaking. The feel is soft and silky, and these are extraordinarily blend-able. Some say all loose shadows are created equal- I say try Cheeky’s and you’ll change your mind on that. Perhaps most impressive is the range of shades available (fifty- five in all!) Check out the stunnning rainbow here .

Ingredients: ± Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide

All-over glow in Fresh: $17, full size (1o gram jar)

This is a lovely, aptly-named radiance boosting powder in a natural-looking, warm pinky brownish shade (at least that’s how it comes across on my skin, and I love it!). I’ve applied it two ways; once all over my face for a glowing, slightly sunned look, and on my cheeks as a very pretty, natural flush. Because I have only been able to use the samples a couple of times, I can’t write a full review until I get a full-size, but so far so good!

Ingredients:  Mica, ± Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

And the last thing I’m going to talk about is the Mineral foundation$28, full size (20 gram jar)

Now, I am a bit of a skeptic when it comes to mineral foundation. I’ve tried some that are great, but more often than not, I find they age me and settle into my lines. I also find they don’t typically provide much of a coverage and can look chalky. But keeping in theme with the rest of the Cheeky Cosmetics products I’ve tried, this foundation is stellar.  It’s so soft and silky, and light as air. I find it to be full coverage for my needs, and it banished dark circles and redness without the use of a concealer. Seriously! Some companies are getting wise to the fact that there is a demand for a foundation that you needn’t wear concealer with, and that is really impressing me. I had enough for one full application and a half-face application. I wore the full faced application for the same seven hours as the shadow, and was very pleased with the long wear, lack of caking, drying or settling into lines, and the great coverage. I wore the half-face application for the purpose of this review. Check out this photo. My left side (your right, with piercing) has the foundation on it and the right side (your left) does not. The foundation is the only skin makeup I have on in this photo. (No concealer, no powder, nada). The photo has not been photoshopped. It just so happens that I’ve had a reaction to a cleanser, and have been particularly sleep-deprived as of late, so  my skin is especially blotchy, red and fraught with dark circles. Admittedly, I feel a bit bashful revealing such terrible skin to the world, but I would be remiss if I didn’t show you the true nature of this fabulous foundation, and what better way to to it than this?

ac

If it looks a bit light, bear in mind that I am quite pale, and I’m not wearing a trace of blush.  Amazing, right? I’ve already ordered a full size.

Ingredients:  Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, ± Zinc Oxide ( I know!!)

So in short, I can’t say enough about Cheeky Cosmetics. I hope when I move to Vancouver this Summer I have the chance to meet Chantal and pick her brain, because she’s really onto something here. Another fabulous Friday find- an all-natural brand that isn’t afraid of fun colour. Products that perform, look gorgeous, and are free from toxicity? Yes, please!!

Here’s my Cheeky look, taken in front of my window in mid-day. Some of the photos were taken with my professional flash, some were taken with none.

I’m wearing:

Mineral Foundation in porcelain (I actually had enough left over to apply a light dusting- just enough to even out my skin tone but still let my freckles shine through-and you know what that means, right? This foundation is also buildable!)

Eye Shadows in Evening Gown and Moroccan Sunset

All-over Glow in Fresh

Lip gloss in Ambrosia

cheeky cheeky1 cheeky3

DSC_1015

(Top to bottom swatches: Lip gloss in Ambrosia,  All-over glow in Fresh, Mineral Foundation in Porcelain (I used a tiny, tiny bit because I wanted to conserve what I had left!), Eye shadow in Moroccan Sunset, Eye Shadow in Evening Gown)

Happy Friday, loves! Stay beautiful, and be eco-friendly!

Love,

Stephanie

9 thoughts on “Eco-Friendly Friday featuring Cheeky Cosmetics!

  1. How do you find all these amazing brands Stephanie?! Seriously that foundation is amazing!! I’ve never seen a mineral foundation perform that well! Also loving the eyeshadows!

    1. Hi Kate! I dig! I search Google, etsy, beautylish and makeup alley for the organic cream of the crop. Wherever you live, this brand is worth the shipping. I’m really bowled over by the quality!

      1. That’s dedication! 🙂 I might check them out. I’m trying to not buy makeup right now though 😉

  2. This brand sounds great. Pretty shade of lipgloss, it would probably suit anyone. The mineral foundation seems like a dream. Definitely something i should check out when in Canada.

Leave a Reply

