Eco-Friendly Friday featuring Erzulie Cosmetics

Hi there, strangers! First off, I want to apologize for the wonky format of this post- I have no idea why, but WordPress is reformatting my paragraph structure! I also want to apologize for being M.I.A. this week. Try this look Tuesday will resume next week, I promise! Let’s just say things have been crazy ’round here, and now that I finally have a moment to catch my breath, I’m excited to bring you one of the most truly natural and authentically handmade brands I’ve come across; New England’s own Erzulie All Natural Cosmetics.

il_570xN.352707922_tl1c

According to founder and president Rhonda Demars, “Erzulie All Natural Cosmetics was born out of necessity. I was tired of putting chemicals on my face and I felt like my makeup was aging me, so I started making my own. I have been in business since 2008″.
With the help of Rhonda’s passion for natural makeup, her strong business sense, and her background as a holistic nutritionist, her company, Progress In Health, Inc (for which Erzulie®  Awaken Your Inner Goddess™ is the flagship brand), has garnered thousands of sales through the main website and etsy.
It’s not surprising that the entrepreneur and her brainchild have developed such a following- these cosmetics are definitely high quality, affordable, and best of all, natural. Made with ingredients such as avocado oil, mango butter and peppermint essential oil, and devoid of all the chemicals in David Suzuki’s Dirty Dozen (twelve cosmetic chemicals to avoid), this handmade line of skincare and cosmetics boasts impressive performance and staying power.
Here are some highlights of what I received:
Erzulie All Natural Mineral Concealer stick in light.
As you’re all sick and tired of hearing by now, running two businesses and being a stay-at-home mom does not lend itself well to sleep. Thus, my eyes often look ringed, puffy, dark, you name it. So a good concealer is a staple in my makeup routine, and this concealer covers like none other I’ve ever used. I’m not kidding.  Its thick, creamy formula is a breeze to blend, turning to a powdery smooth finish after application. I’m a big fan of stick concealer so I was excited to try this one. It totally surpassed my expectations. Before I wholeheartedly committed to using toxin-free makeup that excludes everything on the Dirty Dozen list, my go-to concealer was Rimmel’s Hide The Blemish, which was fabulous in terms of colour match, coverage and  long-wear, (but scary in terms of ingredients) and I never thought I’d be lucky enough to find a natural concealer that performed as well as it did. This one does, and then some.  Plus, it’s under ten dollars! How can you go wrong?
Here’s what the company itself  has to say about this gem:
This non-comedogenic, acne safe, extra coverage mineral concealer stick covers anything you don’t want the world to see. It automatically self adjusts to your skin tone with our special mineral blend. This creamy concealer is highly pigmented and has some major concealing power. It effortlessly covers and erases broken capillaries, pigmentation and sun spots, dark circles. Covers redness and acne with ease and won’t irritate your skin in any way. Very gentle formula good for your skin. Try it with my clarifying liquid foundation and experience the difference in your skin. Whether you have mature, dry, acne prone, oily or normal skin, you will love the natural feel and beautiful coverage.
Couldn’t have put it better myself. I wish I had a product photo, but being the silly girl that I am, I wanted to see how much product there was in the tube, and while winding it out, it broke off. So it’s safe in a pot now, but I was really impressed by how much bang I got for my buck, in terms of quality and quality. I kept expecting the stick to end while I was twisting the tube, and it kept…….not……. ending.
An absolute must-have.
Organic Ingredients:
Jojoba Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Beeswax, Sunflower Oil, Shea Butter, Argan Oil, Castor Oil, Squalane, Vitamin E, Plant waxes, Non GMO Cornstarch, Mineral Blend (patent pending),Grapefruit Seed Extract, Iron Oxides.
Giatube
This is a moisture-packed little multi-tasker in a gorgeous peach shade. Think  tinted lip balm with more colour payoff.  I could see Gia looking great on any skin-tone.  It brings a lovely saturated sheen to lips , adds a warm glow to cheeks, and imparts a softness wherever it’s placed, without the stickiness, heaviness or general ickiness that so many lip colours of this kind bear. I can’t wait to try more shades!
Organic Ingredients: Jojoba Oil, Beeswax, Shea Oil,Aloe Oil, Argan Oil, Sunflower Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Avocado Butter, Avocado Oil, Vitamin E, Mica, Non-Gmo Cornstarch, Iron Oxides,Grapefruit Seed Extract.
I received a Goddess Glaze in Chakra, (Oh my Goddess! A gorgeous shimmery rosy shade with a minty taste and fabulous colour coverage), a black Mineral Mascara in intense black , a beautiful cream mineral highlighter, and several samples, including a liquid foundation and a tinted sunscreen. The foundation is great; I thought the Warm Light that was sent to me would be too dark or too yellow for my light, cool-toned skin, but on the face it really blended well, giving me a very slightly tanned look and a balanced skin tone.  I’d say the coverage is light to medium, but it’s buildable. It dries fast, so you need to blend quick, but the finish is a really nice matte. The tinted sunscreen is a dream come true for redheads like me. Can I just say how much I loathe putting sunscreen on every day? I do it in the name of protection, because I have to. I have never had a tan in my life, unless you want to feel sorry for me and refer to lobster-red as  a nice, glowing shade. Translation: I burn. Easily. And fast. So this stuff is a Goddess-send, because not only does it really protect my skin (I’d know, I tried it for two hours in the sun, without any further sunscreen help. No burn.), but it gives a pretty, beachy tint to my skin.
As you have already gathered, my experience with Erzulie All Natural Cosmetics has been a great one so far, and I plan on making it a long-standing one. I have a few other things to talk about, but I’m going to save them for next week, when I post an in-depth review on the awesome mascara, including a pictorial/tutorial on how to apply mineral mascara. This will be posted on Wednesday.
In the meantime, here’s a  fresh, summery look I created using the concealer, foundation, mascara and Gia lip & cheek color.
gia3a
Beautiful, Goddess love,
Stephanie
Links relevant to this post:
Progress In Health, Inc.                                       
www.progressinhealth.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/erzuliecosmetics
Twitter: www.twitter.com/naturalcosmetic
Blog: http://progressinhealth.com/blog/

7 thoughts on “Eco-Friendly Friday featuring Erzulie Cosmetics

  1. I know that you are amazingly beautiful yet you surprise me every time! 😀 let me just say you are stunning and I would buy anything you recommend in order to get your glowing beautiful look! 😀 I know you see reviews on every blog these days but I’ve always trusted your opinion, your results always do the talking 😀
    I hope the brands are realising what a treasure you are, because you can sure convince us of the quality of their products.
    Another great post, love it!

  2. Stephanie thanks for this post. I have been trying to find natural alternatives to gunk I usually spend all my money on. I’ll definitely be checking Erzulie out! Thanks for being so informative and putting this effort into finding resources your readers would not only like, but also benefit from. Love you loads xoxo

Leave a Reply

