Brija Cosmetics looks/review/swatches and giveaway!

I admit it. I’m a sucker for beauty vloggers. I’ve subscribed to about a billion of them on YouTube, but I definitely have a select few that I watch almost religiously. Brianna Jane, AKA iluvjesse444 on YouTube, is one of those favourites. Not only is Brianna gorgeous and great with makeup, but she’s passionate about non-toxic makeup, too. So much so, in fact, that she created her own non-toxic makeup company, Brija Cosmetics, and I have finally added some of her pieces to my collection. Here’s a little bit about Brianna and Brija, from her website:

As a 20 year old, I founded Brija Cosmetics because I have a passion for using natural and non-toxic skin, hair, body, and makeup products. I decided to start using natural, green products 3 years ago after realizing the effects chemical products have on our health. I want to provide another option for truly natural, mineral makeup.

I go to school full time to complete my degree in English (creative writing) with hopes to work in the publishing field. I’m also a Green Beauty Vlogger on Youtube under the username iluvjesse444. I’m incredibly grateful to be able to share my knowledge and research with those who have a passion for natural products as well.

Brija Cosmetics features inspired eyeshadow in both single and collection form, lip products, and blushes. I also plan in the future to offer other cosmetic products!

ALL products are cruelty free and vegan.

– See more at: http://www.brijacosmetics.com/about/#sthash.HDkFaMvf.dpuf

My Brija loot:

Lip Tints in Peyton and Rachel ($6.50 each, Brijacosmetics.com) lip pencil in Sedusa ($8.00 each), Wide Eyed waterline pencil ($7.00 each), eyeshadow in Manor, and samples of eyeshadow in Game and Bachelor Watson, and a sample of Sunrise highlighter/blush. Today we will be talking about Peyton, Manor, Bachelor Watson, and Sedusa, and the rest will be featured in a future post.

Here’s a photo of Peyton, from the Brija website:

Image

Eyeshadows are available in singles on the Brija Cosmetics Etsy shop ($5.78 each). Manor is also part of the Charmed collection, and Bachelor Watson is also one half of the Sherlock Duo. Bachelor Watson:   (Shadow photos From the Brija website)

Image

And Manor, photo from the Brija website:

Image

Swatches of (left to right) Bachelor Watson, Manor, and Peyton

With flash:

Image

And without:

Image

Here are Brianna’s swatches from her Powderpuff Girls collection, which includes Sedusa lip pencil and Wide Eyed waterline pencil. Available separately and as a whole collection. Sedusa is the middle of the vertical swatches (reddish brown) and Wide Eyed is beside it (champagne-ish colour).Image

And here’s a photo of the full Powderpuff Girls Collection: (Courtesy of Brija Cosmetics)

il_570xN.513390630_7shh

*My impressions*

Peyton lip tint: An absolutely gorgeous lip tint. Very similar to a lip balm in texture and packaging, this universally flattering lip tint imparts a soft sheen, and impressive colour payoff for the type of product it is. The colour is beautiful! On me, it’s a rosy-nude with slight hints of peach. It definitely doesn’t sink into fine lines, and delivers great moisture. Another surprising thing about this product is that it really lasts on the lips! I fell asleep about an hour after applying it, and when I woke up three hours later, the colour was still going quite strong! This would be a great stocking stuffer. I can’t wait for more lip tints from Brija Cosmetics! Ingredients:  Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide, Candelilla Wax, Jojoba Oil, Apricot Oil, Vitamin E, Shea Butter, Boron Nitride, Peppermint Essential Oil

Image

Sedusa lip pencil: This is a chubby, highly pigmented, warm velvety red with brownish tones. I find a lot of lip pencils to be drying, but this one glides on effortlessly, giving lips great colour coverage with a moisturized feel. It looks fabulous full force or blotted down, and it lasts really well. As it wears, it leaves a beautiful red stain on the lips. It’s pigmented enough to wear without any other lip products. I love it on its own or with a gloss over top. The perfect colour for Fall/Winter! I don’t typically go this dark, because it’s just not my preference for my skin tone, but Sedusa is an exception. Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Candelilla Wax, Jojoba Oil, Apricot Oil, Unrefined Shea Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Peppermint Essential Oil

Image

Eyeshadows:

Bachelor Watson is the perfect neutral shade to wear with any type of eye. It’s a beautiful light taupe/creamy nude colour that works well with any skin tone. I love this eyeshadow!

Manor is a deep brownish burgundy/wine shade, perfect for a fall smokey eye. Looks great with Peyton on the lips! Ingredients:Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide, Magnesium Stearate.  Brija eyeshadows are easy to blend, pigmented and long lasting.

Here I am with Bachelor Watson all over lid, Manor on outer third, and Wide Eyed in my waterline, with Peyton on my lips and cheeks (one of the greatest things about products like these is that they can double as beautiful cream blushes!)
peyton
Peyton2
And here I am again, with the same eyes, (although I applied Manor wet, and with a heavier hand) and Sedusa on my lips: (Isn’t it amazing how a lip colour changes everything? This is definitely the way to take a look from day to night!)
Sedu
Overall: Stunning, affordable and non-toxic? Yes, please! I’m loving everything I have, and I’ve already placed an order for the brand new Grinch Collection (a three-piece collection inspired by the classic holiday film, featuring a cream shadow, loose shadow and lip gloss), and will definitely do a post on that when it arrives! It’s limited edition, so grab yours quickly!
One of the things I love about Brija Cosmetics is that it comes from an honest place. I love supporting and working with small, upstart brands run by women who care about healthy beauty as much as I do. I’m smitten!
GIVEAWAY: Starting Friday, November 15th, through Friday, November 22nd, I will be hosting a giveaway on the iPhone beauty and fashion app GottaFlo. Up for grabs: Manor and Bachelor Watson eyeshadows (1 gram of pigment in a 5 gram jar), and a Peyton lip tint! To enter, grab the app here https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gottaflo/id588735884?mt=8 , go to Explore, enter Elegant Rebel in the search bar and follow me. Then, on Friday, watch for the post about the giveaway and comment ENTRY. You must also follow Brija Cosmetics on Facebook. Don’t have an iPhone? I’m sure you know someone who does, who can sign up and enter on your behalf! Get a bonus entry if you become a new user AND  post a photo (other than your profile photo) on the app before Sunday.  Photo must include a hashtag followed by an App category (beauty, fashion, DIY, etc.) Android users, fear not! An Android version of the app will be available by the end of the year, and you’d better believe there will be an amazing celebratory giveaway!
Brija Cosmetics (official site)
*The opinions expressed within this post are my own. I have not been paid to write this review. I bought Sedusa, Wide Eyed, and the lip tints with my own money, and Brianna generously added Manor and the samples to my package. *
Non-toxic love,
Stephanie
6 thoughts on “Brija Cosmetics looks/review/swatches and giveaway!

  1. Great post! I really enjoyed your review and photos. I got my first Brija haul in the other day and have been having lots of fun playing around with it. I’ve been loving the wide eyed liner, never used a water liner before and it’s quite neat. Crossing my fingers for this fabulous giveaway, I’ve had my eyes on the Peyton lip tint!

Leave a Reply

