Best of Green Beauty 2013 – Lips

I was blown away by many of the green (non-toxic) lipsticks I tried last year, and I wear the majority of the products I’m about to list on a regular basis. I have to be honest; when I started my green beauty crusade, there were some things I thought I’d just never be able to replace with more natural alternatives, and lipstick was near the top of that list. I just wasn’t convinced I’d be able to find staying power, pigment, hydration and good ingredients all in one. Happily, I was wrong. Not only did I stumble upon some non-toxic lipsticks that I’ll never be without, I was also introduced to some stunning glosses and beautiful tints/tinted balms. Without further ado, I bring you my green beauty bounty of lipsticks I loved in 2013.

Delizioso Skincare Creme De La Creme Lipstick in Caffe Macchiato

The nudest of the nude! I love me a good nude lipstick, and this is a seriously bold one! Alone, (at least on me), it is a very light  matte beige with slight pink undertones. I also love to wear it with Delizioso’s Lychee Crisp lipstick, which is a really pretty medium-dark pink. Mixed, these two colours are a gorgeous pinky-nude (obviously). Worn alone with a smokey eye, this lipstick adds a dash of retro mod that I personally adore. It turns my lips this fantastic beige that is almost white (it appears lighter on me than it does in the tube- I think that’s because my lips are extremely pale to begin with, with pink undertones, so the brown doesn’t show up on me  much.) I love this lipstick.

DSC_0489

Here I am wearing it, along with Delizioso Skincare Dual Action Foundation in Rose, Lip and Cheek Stain in Cocoa Punch on cheeks,  Black Diamond Mascara, and Perfectly Pressed Eyeshadow in Blueberry.

DSC_0469-2

Delizioso Skincare is owned and operated by founders (and sisters!) Ariel and Leeona Emerald, and is based in London, Ontario. I was lucky enough to meet these ladies in the Summer. We had a long chat about non-toxic beauty, and they generously gifted me with many items to try and review. The fact that I received these items for free does not influence my opinion. I receive many packages from different brands every week, and you’ll usually find me only writing about the ones I love, unless I feel something positive can be gained by writing a negative review. It should also be noted that I am extremely picky about the ingredients I use, and Delizioso Skincare boasts one of the most impressively non-toxic high-end cosmetic lines I’ve ever come across.

Photos by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: (* = Certified Organic) Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Barium Sulfate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,  Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuacu) Seed Butter, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Vitamin E, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Silica, Echium Plantagineum Seed Oil, Hordeum Vulgare Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Origanum Vulgare (Oregano) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Extract, Cinnamomum Zeylancum (Cinnamon) Bark Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract,  Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal) Root Extract. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides.

Just Pure Minerals Luscious Vegan Lipstick in Ruby:

Minty, non-toxic, and handmade by owner/founder Jo (a super sweet lady with so much passion for what she does, and a sense of humour on top of it!), this is THE. PERFECT. RED. If Goldielocks found this in the Mama Bear’s vanity, she’d be thrilled. It’s not too cool, not too warm, not too light, not too dark. Not totally matte, but not ultra shimmery (more of a satin), and definitely not drying. For a non-toxic lipstick, this has impressive staying-power, too. I wore it for four hours before I needed a touch-up. This is my go-to red.

JPM4

You may recognize the photo below from my Holiday Makeup Extravagnza post, where I also raved about this lipstick. I’m wearing Ruby with Just Pure Minerals eyeshadow in 24 Karat Gold.

www.justpureminerals.com

1477926_10152413851798345_1723337703_n

photos by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Kernel Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil (and) Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Iron Oxides, Mica, Peppermint Oil*, Natural Vitamin E (soy-derived)

Gabriel Cosmetics Lipstick in Sheer Rose

119424

This lipstick is GORGEOUS, and is probably my most-worn lipstick ever. It’s an ultra-creamy medium rose that I think is so flattering on almost any skin tone. I adore the way it looks with just about any eye makeup look, and it lasts all day!

Here it is on: (So pretty, right?)

DSC_0705

Product photo from luckyvitamin.com, Lip photo by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius(Safflower) Seed Oil, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lecithin, Crithmum Maritimum (Sea Fennel) Extract, Bisabolol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Iron Oxides, Mica, Hypericum Perforatum (St. John’s Wort) Extract, Titanium Dioxide

Delizioso Skincare Creme De La Creme Lipstick in Tart Pomegranate

Tart_Pomegranate_SMALL

Another win for Delizioso Skincare! This is a cool, deep red. So vampy! I love this lipstick for a night out.  Here’s my beautiful friend Sarah wearing Tart Pomegranate!

tart

Product photo from Delizioso Skincare. Portrait photo by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Barium Sulfate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Theobroma Grandiflorum (Cupuacu) Seed Butter, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Vitamin E, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Silica, Echium Plantagineum Seed Oil, Hordeum Vulgare Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Origanum Vulgare (Oregano) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Extract, Cinnamomum Zeylancum (Cinnamon) Bark Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal) Root Extract. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides.

Simple Beauty Minerals Mineral Lip Color in Strawberry Rose

Strawberry-Rose

A gorgeous, pigmented mauve-y rose, perfect for wearing with Orchid eyeshadow (and Orchid is the colour of the year, you know!). I usually don’t go for this type of shade, but I really love this one. I love it on my cheeks, too! Another advantage of non-toxic makeup- it’s totally multi-purpose.

Here I am in Champagne, Princess and Smokey Plum eyeshadows, Sweet Rose blush, and Strawberry Rose lipstick, all by Simple Beauty Minerals.

ChampagneandRoses

Product photo from Simple Beauty Minerals, portrait photo by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients:

Ingredients: Base ingredients- Cocoa Butter; Candelilla Wax; Castor Oil; Meadowfoam Seed Oil; Sesame Oil; Avocado Butter; Macademia Nut Oil; Vitamin E (rice- based). Color Ingredients- Mica; Iron Oxides; Titanium Dioxide; may contain Manganese Violet.

So, there you have it! My favourite non-toxic  lipsticks of 2013. I also want to shout out my favourite tints and glosses:

Peyton lip tint from Brija Cosmetics is absolutely gorgeous. Conditioning, lasting, and very pigmented for the type of product it is, this is a stunning rosy peach that NEVER leaves my purse! Definitely worth picking up.

peytonq

il_570xN.495088726_nmda

(product photo from Brija Cosmetics. Lip photo by Stephanie Deline)

The All Natural Face Lip Gloss in Frosted Berries

tube

Such a pretty rosy nude, with a beautiful shine!

FrostedBerries

Both photos by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Cold pressed castor oil,Candelillia wax,Mica,Oxides (this gloss is under $5!)

Juice Beauty Reflecting Lip Gloss collection

colleciton1

Four delicious, fruity-tasting glosses in  nude (Champagne), Pink (Pink), Light Red (Guava) and Light Bronze (fig). Non-sticky, shiny, gorgeous!

Photos by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Ricinus communis (organic castor seed oil)*, cera alba (organic beeswax)*, sesamum indicum (organic sesame seed oil)*, vitis vinifera (organic grape seed oil)*, vaccinium corymbosum (organic blueberry seed oil)*, punica granatum (organic pomegranate seed oil)*, rubus idaeus (organic raspberry seed oil)*, actinidia chinensis (organic kiwi seed oil)*, vaccinium macrocarpon (organic cranberry seed oil)*, fragaria ananassa (organic strawberry seed oil)*, euterpe oleracea (organic acai berry)*, lycium chinense (organic goji berry)*, triisostearyl citrate, tocopherol (Vitamin E), agave americana (agave leaf extract), thymus vulgaris (thyme extract), melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree extract), rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary extract) and citrus sinensis (sweet orange oil). Pink color may contain titanium dioxide, mica, iron oxides.

Delizioso Skincare lip and cheek stain in Nude Rose:

Nude_Rose

Tastes and smells like real roses, feels light and silky, and looks so, so pretty on lips and cheeks. I’m wearing it on my lips and cheeks here:

DSC_0024

Trina is wearing it on lips and cheeks here:

DSC_0226

See how well it works on different skin tones? Magic!

Product photo from Delizioso Skincare, portrait photos by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients: Hemp Seed Oil, Avocado Butter, *Extra Virgin Olive Oil, *Jojoba Oil, Watermelon Seed Oil, Castor Vegetable Wax, Non GMO Natural Vitamin E, Kosher Certified flavour oil or Essential Oil (Rose Essential Oil). May contain mica, iron oxides, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide (non-FD&C natural pigments).

LUVU Beauty lip gloss in Rosewood

There isn’t a product photo for this on the LUVU Beauty website, and mine is so well-loved that the label has worn off, so here’s a photo of me wearing it. Such a gorgeous deep rose shade, made by this Canadian beauty company! LOVE.

LUVUbeauty
Photo by Stephanie Deline

Ingredients:Ricinus communes (Castor) Oil, Prunus armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Limnanthes alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Euphorbia anisyphilitica (Candelilla) Wax, Butyrospermun parkii (Shea) Oil, Brassica Campestris/Aleurites Fordi Oil Copolymer, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Daucus carota (Carrot) Oil, Natural Flavor. Color Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Manganese Violet.

There are so many more lip products I tried and loved last year, but I don’t want this to become a novel, so I narrowed it down to my absolute must-haves.

I hope you enjoyed reading this, because I sure enjoyed putting it together!

What are YOUR favourite non-toxic lip products right now?

Pure, green love,

Stephanie

xo

FTC: I bought Peyton (Brija Cosmetics), Frosted Berries (The All Natural Face), Sheer Rose (Gabriel Cosmetics) and Ruby (Just Pure Minerals) with my own money. The Reflecting Gloss Collection was given to me as a gift from a friend. The rest of the products were sent to me free of charge by the companies in hopes of an honest review. Whether I buy a product of receive it for free, my reviews remain honest and impartial. I’ll never say I love something unless I mean it, and you won’t catch me putting things in my blog just because they were sent to me. I receive many items that do not make it to my blog because I don’t fall in love with them, or because I simply won’t use them based on the ingredients.

10 thoughts on “Best of Green Beauty 2013 – Lips

  1. I tend to lean toward the rose shades… thanks for sharing so many examples of green ” rose ” lip products… will be on the lookout for them…. and you do look amazing with the nude lip and over the top blue eye…. something us 59 yr olds just can’t pull off anymore …. amazing ❤

  2. First of all, glad to see Steph here again, she is always honest and only tries out the true non toxic products. She gets sent stuff all the time but she refuses to use something that does not meet her standards, so every word she says about these is as real as can be 🙂 Now about the lip products- the Delizioso lipsticks are my fave for sure! Look at those colours! It’s almost hard to believe you can get that intensity and effect in something so natural.

  3. Awesome post Stephanie! I especially love how you included a photo of each one on 🙂 these all look amazing!

Leave a Reply

