PiN- Designer earrings with an Eco-friendly flair

With a new blog name (She’s So Eco), a new blog aesthetic, and many new Eco-adventures on the horizon for 2014, I’ve decided to expand my blog to include inspiring Eco jewellery and fashion along with my first blogging love, beauty.

The inspiration to create posts about standout Eco-jewellery was derived from Natalie Gait, the artisan jewellery designer behind the brand new indie line PiN.  (Click here to follow on Facebook.) Natalie crafts stunning, unique earrings by hand in her home. She’s actually been making them since 2006, but only recently did she branch outside of making them for herself and morph into an artisan vendor. Funny story- Natalie and I went to high school together in Cambridge, Ontario (where Natalie sets up shop and hangs her hat to this day), and when we recently connected on Facebook after more years than I care to count, I was stunned to see her original earrings. Natalie had always been one of those girls you just knew would end up doing something totally cool, with her beauty, brains and evident spunk, but I had no idea she had this in her!

I’m all about supporting independent artisans as often as possible. I think that when you know who you’re buying from, and are helping one person feed their family, pay their mortgage or send their kids to college, there is just something so raw and organic about that, something way more unique and special than buying from a huge corporation. Plus, every woman is one of a kind, so why shouldn’t she celebrate that with one of a kind jewellery that NO ONE else will have?

So, without further ado, I present to you the most fitting introduction I can think of to my jewellery coverage; Natalie Gait and her beautiful brainchild PiN.

To start off, here are some photos of Natalie’s one-of-a-kind, handmade earrings. These are made from pins and other found materials, as well as upcyled jewellery and parts. Currently the line consists of earrings, but Natalie plans to expand as she goes!

Iced

Image

Twinkle

Image

TurqDrop

Image

Glacier

Image

Sprang

Image

Treemite

Image

Aren’t they so beautiful, so wearable and just plain amazing? Please find PiN on Facebook here to spread the love and reach out for more information.

Here’s a little Q&A with Natalie, so you can get inside the artist’s mind. I always love learning about what makes people tick and what inspires them, so I wanted to bring you some words straight from the artist herself.

What inspired you to begin making earrings and what made you decide to create your own line?I was inspired  by my never ending quest to be frugal. I’ve never liked the idea of paying an over the top price for something that I know I could make for myself with some effort and creativity. I began with making earring for for myself years ago. It always seemed to me that there wasn’t that perfect mix earring, the one you put on in the morning and wear with your jeans, then change into evening wear, but the earrings stay.  Versatility is really important to me, so that was the fuel. The “fire” came recently, as it was a friend’s birthday and I had no idea what to get for her… i’ve always been of the mindset, “when in doubt, make something”, so I made her a pair of earrings wrapped in a small origami box.  They were an INSTANT hit at the party and I was asked my numerous women to produce more… so I did… and PiN began.

What makes PiN Eco friendly?I hate the idea of wasting. Nothing is discarded and many of my pieces include the remnants of “left overs” from older pieces.  If a pin gets cut for one piece, the other half is saved for future projects. I also reuse old jewelry. If I have a necklace or a bracelet that’s been loved too much, or too little, I disassemble and recreate.The actual company is named PiN because I started making jewellery strictly from materials I had laying around the house.  I have numerous straight pins because I am in Visual Merchandising and Window display. It only made sense to use the things I had if I was to be as frugal as I wanted.

Why is PiN different?Pin is a line that speaks to all of us. It’s fresh, it’s fun, and it reaches a multi-faceted audience. I believe women feel the need to look certain ways at certain times. Dressed up for a fancy dinner out, dressed down for errands and groceries.  We forget so easily those moments when we were young and felt everyday should be dress-up with sparkles and glam. My line is able to transcend the everyday and give every woman that feeling that she’s special… because she is!

What do you love most about creating jewellery? I love that nothing is the same. Each piece stands on it own and is derived from my imagination. There are no boundaries to what I create, and certainly not for when. I often wake up at 3 a.m. with a new idea. It’s a little annoying sometimes, but i’m grateful nonetheless. Most of all, I love the look on my customer’s faces when they see that perfect pair that speaks to them, that sparkle in their eye gets me every time.

What exciting things are on the horizon for PiN in 2014? REALLY excited about the Spring 2014 Launch.  I’m looking to expand from having my one in one boutique, to 4 within the next 3 months, so thing are very busy for me.  I’ll also be participating in numerous shows through out the year.  I have 3 very specific collections I am working on that I hope to launch within the next 6-9 months, including a bridal line as well as a very special artisan project based on my clientele’s feedback.
Where do you see PiN going within the next few years? I’d like to see PiN moving towards expansion. Rolling out new collections twice a season is very important  to me, as I believe we all love variety and the chance to see new things. This will definitely continue and grow and its something I’m really excited to expand on.
Any plans to expand the line to other types of jewellery? Definitely. I’d like to make a bracelet line that accompanies my current style of earrings. That certainly will be the next on the list, and then working towards necklaces for sure.
Here’s the lovely Natalie:
Image
All photos courtesy of Natalie Gait, 2014.
Blinged-out love,
Stephanie
8 thoughts on “PiN- Designer earrings with an Eco-friendly flair

  1. I especially love the turqdrop, glacier and treemite for their organic look and feel… would definitely consider purchasing them as I appreciate nature and the raw look of semi precious gems and stones …. I also tend to look for unique eco friendly creative designs for my jewellery purchases and something that not everyone will be wearing…. I really appreciate your blog’s information and look forward to your posts…. and I love supporting small local artisans…. a win-win for everyone ! Cheers Cheryl

  2. Ooooooh! This is so great! Natalie I have to meet you! 🙂 I love ‘iced’ and ‘glacier’. Really beautiful pieces and I love that you use as many ‘left-overs’ as possible. Can’t wait to see the Spring collection. 🙂

  3. It’s incredibly cool that she is starting a business on her own whith self made products! A friend of mine makes her own jewelery as well, I find it very interesting to see the whole proces to mix and match till perfection. The first pair of earrings are so pretty!

  4. First of all congrats to this beautiful young woman for her amazingly crafty hands! I am so impressed, I think one of the best features is that the pieces are one of a kind, let’s be serious, who doesn’t want that hehe? 😀 We all love it when we’re the only ones having that special thing. Every pair you showed us is so unique and feminine, I love that about them.

Leave a Reply

