Red Apple Lipstick- As juicy and vibrant as its namesake

Recently I had the great fortune of finding a Houston, Texas company called Red Apple Lipstick. In case you’ve been hiding under a rock, this non-toxic, gluten-free and cruelty free cosmetics company specializes in (but is not limited to), you guessed it, lipstick! There’s quite a buzz about Red Apple Lipstick in the beauty community, and I’ve been aching to find out if the hype is based on truth, or just, well, hype.

Being the lucky little beauty blogger that I am, I scored not one, but TWO lipsticks from RAL (the acronym they are affectionately otherwise known as), and I’m thrilled to report that my hubby has reason to be jealous this Valentine’s Day. Because my heart is swooning over not just the lipsticks, but the hands-on approach, dedication to customers, and cheeky, fun vibe that Red Apple Lipstick embodies.

Helmed by founder Jay Adam Harper (with a whole lotta help and modelling skills from his adorable wife, Andrea), RAL has actually been in existence for about 7 years. Jay (who also penned a book called Toxicity in Makeup – Silent Killings For Profit) set out to create the perfect red lipstick, with a strong research-backed focus on non-toxic ingredients and performance. That mission has developed into one of the most buzzed-about cosmetics companies in your twitter feed.

With 42 shades (listed on the website as of February 2014) of matte, satin and shimmery lipsticks in colours to suit any pucker (PLUS eyeshadows, glosses and more) not to  mention bloggers professing their undying love on the daily, Red Apple Lipstick has a lot to celebrate. I’m forever glad they chose to let me in on the party be sending me Mix & Mingle (left) and New York (right) lipsticks.

DSC_0891

RAL1

RAL3

Mix & Mingle:

What Red Apple Lipstick says:

Mix & Mingle is such a fun, flirty fuschia – every makeup bag needs it!
Wear it at 1/2 intensity for a little punch of pink – or full intensity to go bold!
Gluten Free, Paraben Free, Fragrance Free, Nut/Tree Nut Free, Corn Free, Soy Free – Toxin Free!
What She’s So Eco says: This ultra-bright fuschia is OUT OF THIS WORLD! I feel bold, sexy and unstoppable with this vibrant shade on my lips. The formula is creamy, with just a touch of pretty sheen, and feels light as a feather, without any stickiness or greasiness. I put it on, left it on for a few hours, and came back to my mirror with the same bright, stunning lips. I kissed an apple a few times and while some did transfer, the colour was only taken down a notch. I should also mention that I bite my lips a lot (terrible, I know!), and as a result, have some annoying lines. The majority of lipsticks tend to sink right into them, but these ones smooth right over them! Colour me happy! This shade would be perfect for many occasions. A  wild night on the town, with smokey eyes and a scandalous black minidress, a dinner party with simple eyes, an elegant bun and a neutral dress, or a hot Valentine’s day date with loose, romantic hair and florals. So impressed.
*I was unable to locate the ingredients on the Red Apple website, I think because this is a newer shade. I will update you!*
For this look, I also used Mix & Mingle on my cheeks!
RAL7
RAL6
RAL5
RAL8
RAL4
New York:
What RAL says:  New York is a brown based nude shade with orange undertones. This colour looks especially beautiful on those with warm skin tones, but we think anyone can rock it! There is no shimmer in this color, so you can keep it simple and natural. Rock this velvety finish, which is perfect for all occasions; or combine it with another lipstick or gloss to play with the colour and finish! Gluten Free, Paraben Free, Soy Free, Casein Free, Cruelty Free and Vegan
What She’s So Eco says: Darn right, anyone can rock it! I am OBSESSED with nude lip products, and I’m telling you now, this is my new go-to Holy Grail nude lipstick. It’s just perfect, the ideal balance of nude and brown, and while the orange-y undertones show up more pink on my skin tone, that’s just the way I like it. Warmer in some lights and cooler in others, New York is simply gorgeous regardless of the lighting situation.  Nudes can be tricky. Sometimes they’re just TOO nude, other times too bold. New York nails it. My nude lipstick fantasy has come to life! Has all the same qualities mentioned in Mix & Mingle, without the shimmer. Perfect alone or with a gloss on top. Classic, elegant, stunning! You can wear this with ANYTHING, but I love wearing nude lips with a smokey eye.
RAL10
RAL9
RAL12
RAL2
Ricinus Communis, Citric Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Copercnicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Gluten Free Tocopheryl Acetate, May Contain Titanium Dioxide CI 77891,Mica CI 77019, Manganese Violet CI 77742, Iron Oxides CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499
To sum it up: Simply put, I’m obsessed! And I think you will be, too!
Stay tuned for a new feature, “Meet the Maker” in which I interview the artisans behind beauty brands. First up will be my exclusive interview with Jay Harper, at the end of February!
Have a great weekend, beauties! Put some pretty lipstick on!
Purely,
Stephanie
*Disclaimer: I received these products in exchange for an honest review. I have not been paid for my review, nor does the fact that I received the products for free influence my opinion.*
p.s. How social are you? ‘Cause I’m on, like, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!
Tweet me @shesoeco
Instagram me: shesoeco
Facebook me: She’s So Eco
xo
18 thoughts on “Red Apple Lipstick- As juicy and vibrant as its namesake

    1. Let’s get one in your hands 🙂 Also, I would say you would be remiss to pass up Petal Pusher, Cranberry Magic, and Audrey. Would look awesome on you!! Do you know how to reach Ashley to get this setup for you?

  1. I am torn… like both for very distinct reasons…. the nude for everyday wear and the punch of fuschia for days I am feeling sassy… so great to learn of eco friendly lipsticks…. great review Stephanie 🙂

    1. As a guy who makes lipsticks for a living (odd I know) and after as many in person transformations that I have performed… I have come to the conclusion that a woman needs a minimum of 3 fresh lipsticks. With three she can keep something easy, something slightly ‘off topic’ and one power color. Then for a little added fun, begin to mix them into combo’s. When you consider combo’s plus ranging intensity levels… 3 lipsticks become 25.

    1. Totally agree!! What a mood booster lipstick is right? That’s why I love it so much.. no other piece of makeup can so easily change a mood from playful fun, to moody, to sexy, to seduction, to right in line, to way out of line, to rebellious, to understated… Would love to see you in Firefly. Did you see this color from our Christmas release lookbook? I would like to see you on this at over intensity, then knocked back to flat. http://www.redapplelipstick.com/content/lookbooks/xmas-lookbook-final.pdf

      1. Orange for the redheaded girl! Steph I think you would look smashing in that colour! ❤ You can do a fun look to match it with. And also the Royal is incredibly beautiful 🙂 You would be great with the Royal and a cat eye, like a magazine cover 😀

  2. Great post 🙂 Both colors are gorgeous on you! I love the bright fuchsia of Mix & Mingle. I haven’t tried much from Red Apple Lipstick but I do agree their formulas are great. I have Coral Crush from them and it’s a pretty pink-coral coral, great for spring!

    1. Jump on board 🙂 I see you have some of my Mint 2 Be’s on hand. That’s great. If I were fortunate enough to have you in Houston for one of our photo shoots, I think it would be awesome to create a 1950’s inspired super porcelain look with Rebel!

  3. Mix and Mingle is gorgeous! Both looks are perfect for you and your photos are beautiful, as always. I would love to try this fuschia and one of RAL’s oranges (maybe Sunkissed or Firefly)—could definitely use something bold to brighten up my face 🙂

Leave a Reply

