Review- Authentic Skin Remedies

I am excited to talk about the Multi Purpose Facial Skin Care Trial Kit (7 pieces) by Authentic Skin Remedies. This is a San Jose based line of botanical skincare founded by a friendly and gorgeous young woman by the name of Amy Rueda. Take one look at photos of this blonde beauty, and you’ll swear she’s discovered the fountain of youth. And that can only mean good things about her skincare, because we know she uses it, right? Right. Amy was sweet enough to send me this lovely trial kit, and I’ll get to my thoughts in a moment, but first I want to share a bit of the Authentic Skin Remedies story, from their website.

The  ”authentic” classic car to fuel a plant-based botanicals skincare business idea
—a love story
Girl gets stage three environmental endocrine cancerhttp://www.authenticskinremedies.com/natural-organic-skin-care-about-our-founder-san-jose-ca.htmlGirl detoxifies her beauty, her diet, her home of chemicalshttp://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ngCfEM9X6OMGirl gets pregnant with miracle baby
Girl after endocrine system cancer


Amy Rudea – Founder

Girl starts all natural skincare line
Www.authenticskinremedies.tumblr.comGirl inspires others to make change with her free education events
http://www.authenticskinremedies.com/contact-speaking-engagements-san-jose-ca.htmlHusband quits lucrative job in high tech sales to join girl in businessHusband sells most prized possession in order to “fuel” their idea
A plant-based botanical skincare family business to inspire, educate, and change the beauty industry one person at a time is born!

If that’s not enough to jerk big, fat tears from your eyes , I don’t know what would be! I love the stories behind why people get into the industry. I often find the makers as interesting as the products themselves, and the way this one plays out like a beautiful Fairy Tale is inspiring. It also makes me feel an attachment to Amy and her family, thus making her products and vision more relatable and accessible. I’m impressed by the quality of this line and Amy’s commitment to her products and customers.

I really enjoyed this kit, and while I don’t feel I had enough time with the products to warrant a full-fledged review of each one, I definitely had enough time with it to know that I want more, and there are several items I will be purchasing in full size. *Note, this post began as a review of each item, but as I could see how long it was getting, I have decided to talk about my top four in this post, and review the rest in a later post.*

The 7-piece Multi Purpose Facial Skincare Trial Kit:

Image

Left-to-right: Balance Seawater facial mist, Enrich nourishing lipid serum, Cleanse sulfate-free calming gel

Image

Clockwise from top left: Refine Fruit enzyme exfoliator, Replenish Intense hydration masque, Renew Botanical face cream, Soothe anti-inflammation masque

The lowdown:

Enrich Nourishing Lipid Serum

According to the Authentic Skin Remedies website, this is “a nourishing serum containing essential oils similar to those found within the natural environment of the skin. This serum replenishes and mimics the natural oils often depleted by environment and age. Designed to absorb into skins lipid layer to improve appearance by regenerating the natural moisture level of the skin.”

I can’t even explain how this serum made my skin feel. The smooth, velvety texture left my face feeling so touchable and moisturized. I didn’t have enough time with it to remark on whether it has anti-aging benefits, but I ADORED the way my skin felt after each use, and the continuous moisture if offered. I used it as a cuticle treatment as well, and the dry, cracked skin  there vanished within a day. Amazing! The ingredients in this serum are clean as can be, too!

Ingredients:

Helianthus annuus (Organic Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cannabis sativa (Organic Hemp) Seed Oil, Oenothera biennis (Organic Evening Primrose) Oil, Cupressus sempervirens (Organic Cypress) Essential Oil, Salvia officinalis (Organic Sage) Essential Oil, Ocimum Basillicum (Organic Basil) Essential Oil, Citrus aurantium var. (Petitgrain) Essential Oil, Lavandula angustifolia (Organic Lavender) Essential Oil

Balance Seawater Facial mist

I was obsessed with this as a pick-me-up for my skin and hair after a workout! A couple of spritzes of this light, slightly tingly spray made my flushed, sweaty skin feel invigorated and awake, giving my face an “I just worked out, but don’t I look great” appearance. Amy suggests using it as a TONER too, by applying with a cotton pad. I wish I’d seen that tip before I used my bottle up, because I just know this would be amazing as a toner! Even applied as a spray, it seemed to even out my skin and give me a dewy, healthy look. The ingredients are absolutely amazing, and while there is a light salty (not unpleasant!) taste if you get any in your mouth, I didn’t notice much of a scent, which I like. I really enjoyed this product and would definitely recommend it.

Ingredients:
Purified Seawater, Santalum album (Organic Sandalwood) Oil, Aniba rosaeodora (Organic Rosewood) Oil, Lavandula angustifolia (Organic Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium graveolens (Geranium) Oil

Refine Fruit Enzyme Exfoliation

I found this to be beautifully fragrant and very exfoliating. I have visible pores on and around my nose, as well as dry skin around the crevices of my nose where it meets the rest of my face, and this really helped with all of that! Even after only a few uses, this exfoliator impressed me. It’s so interesting because it feels like a gel cleanser, not gritty like most other exfoliators I have used.  So at first I thought this must have been labelled wrong, because how can something so smooth remove dead skin? But that’s exactly what it did.  And don’t let me forget to rave about that delectable scent! This exfoliator literally smells like fresh baked apple pie sprinkled with cinnamon. The ingredients are quite clean, and the only one I have slight reservations about is Sodium Benzoate. Restricted use is recommended in cosmetics with this ingredient, and that hinges on the concentration of the ingredient (Source: http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ingredient/705989/SODIUM_BENZOATE/). Now, since I don’t know the concentration of this ingredient, I can’t speak to the safety. However, since ingredients are listed in order of concentration, and this is the second last ingredient listed, I’m fairly comfortable that it has been used in a safe concentration here.

Ingredients:
Water, Aloe barbadensis (Aloe Vera Gel), Bromelain, Hippophae rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn) Oil, Papain enzyme (Papaya), Cucurbita pepo (Pumpkin) Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Matricaria recutita (Chamomile) Flower Extract, Glucose, Fructose, Sucrose, Vegetable Alanin, Plant Glutamic Acid, Glycosaminoglycans, Lecithin, Cyamopsis tetragonoloba (Guar) Gum, Yeast Extract, Daucus carota saliva (Carrot) Seed Oil, Alginate, (Seaweed Extract), Sodium Hyaluronate, Iron Oxides, Potassium Sorbate (Potassium Salt) as a preservative, Sodium Benzoate, Citric Acid

Replenish Intense hydration masque 

You know that feeling you get when you step out of a dry, hot place and into a crisp, but not too cold, winter day? The fresh, cool air makes your skin tingle and imparts an overall refreshed feeling, right? That’s what this masque delivers. A pleasantly cooling, lightly tingling, deeply hydrating punch for dry, tired skin. Another plus? It’s virtually invisible, so you can feel free to run errands (I did!) while you wear this, to let it seep in and deliver all the benefits to your skin. This masque applies in a very thin layer, making it no-fuss, no-mess, and easy to remove. Very impressive ingredients, too! Perfect! LOVE it.

Ingredients: Ingredients:
Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Vegetable Glycerin, Hamamelis virginiana (Witch Hazel), Citrus medica limonum (Organic Lemon) Peel Oil, Pelargonium graveolens (Organic Geranium) Oil, Juniperus communis (Organic Juniper) Fruit Oil, Vetivera zizanoides root (Organic Vetiver) Oil, Aniba rosaeodora (Organic Rosewood) Wood Oil, Ocimum basillicum (Organic Basil) Oil, Lavandula angustifolia (Organic Lavender) Oil, Carbomer, Citric Acid

I would definitely recommend trying this sample kit out. I’m impressed with the quality of these products!

Purely,

Stephanie

*disclaimer: The sample kit was generously sent to me by Authentic Skin Remedies in hopes of a review. I do not guarantee a positive review, or a review at all, for any product I receive and whether I buy a product or receive it courtesy of a company, my opinions remain unbiased.*

 

2 thoughts on “Review- Authentic Skin Remedies

Leave a Reply

