Three Lip Balms I’m loving

Winter wreaks havoc on pretty much everything from hair to facial skin to hands, and the lips take a major portion of the dry, flaky, red and raw grief that the season unleashes. I’m a lip balm junkie regardless of seasonal woes, so in Winter, I slather the stuff on like it’s going out of style. You know by now that I’ll only use quality lip balm that is made up of pure, non-toxic ingredients on my pucker, and that means I’m extremely selective as to what I pamper my pout with. Add all this to the fact that I’m a major lip biter, and what you’ve got is someone who is basically a lip balm snob. Sometimes I want colour AND moisturization, sometimes I want gloss and yummy flavour, sometimes I want a minty tingle with no shine, shimmer or colour. But no matter what type of lip balm I’m craving, I always, always, always demand lip balms that are:

Nourishing

Hydrating

Non-sticky

Non-greasy

Non-toxic

Seems like a pretty basic list, but not so fast. Many lip balms are filled with petrochemicals, parabens and other nasties. And many SAFE ones are too waxy, too draggy, greasy, sticky, etc.

These are my go-to three, the lip balms that satisfy any craving I’ve got, so I keep them all in my purse at all times. And I think you should, too!

TASTYFACE Organics Sweet Orange Cream Lip Balm

This luscious balm is super-glossy (though you can blend it in for a lip treatment without the shine), deliciously sweet (like oranges and chocolate), and intensely moisturizing.  The formula is similar to a petroleum jelly, WITHOUT the greasy feel, the toxins or the weird taste. This is  a rich, organic coconut oil-based balm. If you’re after supple, softened lips with some high-shine, this is the perfect balm for you! Bonus: It looks AMAZING as a cheekbone highlighter!

Ingredients: coconut oil*, cocoa butter*, shea butter*, sweet almond oil*, beeswax, vitamin e* (from sunflower seed oil), sweet orange essential oil*, vanilla oleoresin, essential oils*

*organic/high quality source

DSC_0469 DSC_0472 DSC_0445

Nardo’s Natural Organic Lip Balm with SPF 15 in Peppermint

This is the perfect balm for both men and women! If you’re after a pleasantly cooling, deeply moisturizing balm with zero shine and organic ingredients, grab this miracle stick and go! The protection and moisture lasts all day. My husband steals this from the medicine cabinet on the daily, so I’m going to have to get one just for me! I love this lip balm. And if peppermint isn’t your thing, it’s also available in Citrus, Berry and Vanilla.

Peppermint Lip Balm | USDA Certified Organic

Organic Sunflower, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Organic Beeswax, Organic Peppermint & Organic Eucalyptus Essential Oils, Vitamin E, Organic Rosemary Extract

DSC_0448

Everyday Minerals Tinted Lip Butter in Nearly Nude

Okay, so this is technically a lip tint, but in terms of conditioning, it thinks like a balm. With a subtle, satiny shimmer and a very soft, pretty tint, this is a bargain at just $6, and the ingredients are amazing! I’ve only been using this for a few days, but it was love at first swipe. The passionfruit seed oil is gently evident in the taste and scent.  Smoothing and softening, this is a  must-have for any girl who wants some lip love with a little bit of colour in it.  Bonus: Gives cheeks a subtle glow!

Ingredients: ricinus communes (castor) seed oil, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, euphorbia cerifera
(candelilla) wax, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed wax, butyrospermum parkii
(shea) butter, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, passiflora incarnata
(passionfruit) seed oil, sclerocarya birrea (marula) seed oil, astrocaryum murumuru
seed butter, aroma (flavor)*, sambucus nigra (elderberry) fruit extract, tocopherol,
rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract. may contain (+/-): mica, titanium
dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), manganese violet
(CI 77742). *natural flavor.

DSC_0474 DSC_0457

What are YOUR favourite non-toxic lip balms? Have you tried any of these lip miracles?

Purely,

Stephanie

 

 

*All photos by Stephanie Deline, 2014

*Products were provided by the companies in hopes of a review. I do not guarantee reviews for any products received, and my opinions and reviews are honest and unbiased, whether I receive the products free of charge or purchase myself.

4 thoughts on “Three Lip Balms I’m loving

  1. These all look so wonderful! I especially like the sound of the TASTYFACE Organics Sweet Orange Cream Lip Balm since I **love** both the smell and taste of oranges. I am currently using an EOS lip balm that’s flavor is honeydew and is very moisturizing. It smells pretty awesome too :).

Leave a Reply

