“Bare faced” with Ecco Bella

Recently I had the opportunity to try out some cosmetics from Ecco Bella, which is a non-toxic, cruelty-free brand I’d been drooling over for months. Based in Orange, NJ, Ecco Bella purveys a full range of makeup, skincare and body care, with an emphasis on excluding ingredients such as mineral oil, parabens, talc, synthetic fragrances, FD&C dyes, and other nasties. Instead, Ecco Bella employs healthy ingredients, such as organic jojoba oil, calendula oil and coconut oil.

One of the biggest makeup trends seen on the runways of the Spring 2014 fashion shows was a “bare faced” look. Skin was perfected using minimal, strategic makeup to even tones and cover up imperfections, cheeks were graced with a healthy flush and lips and eyes were kept very minimal, with simple, neutral shadows on eyes and nude, matte and very blended-out lips.

I decided to try the bare-faced look with my new Ecco Bella goodies, since the shadows I received were matte and neutral.

Here’s the Ecco Bella palette I used:

Image

Top: Ecco Bella FlowerColor Lipstick in Cafe Au Lait. FlowerColor Shadows left-to-right: Vanilla (a soft, matte buttercream with a slightly yellow tinge), Fawn (a light, warm peachy shade), and Earth (matte milk-chocolate brown), Ecco Bella FlowerColor Mascara in Black.

The shadows are all silky smooth and very neutral, making them perfect for the bare-faced look. You do need to work with them a bit – especially the lighter shades –  to get a good pigment going, but they are buildable and blendable. Earth is a fantastic brown, easy to work with and also looks really pretty used with a damp brush as eyeliner. I would recommend the lighter shades for anyone who is looking for a very soft, neutral look to define their eyes with a soft and subtle wash of colour. I think these would be especially nice for more mature women who don’t want anything shimmery, but just want to add some depth and definition to their eyes. Ingredients: Mica, kaolin, cornstarch, magnesium carbonate, zinc oxide, sweet almond oil, lecithin, green tea extract, aloe vera extract, flower wax iron oxides and ultramarines. I started with Vanilla al over my lid, then blended Fawn on top. I only wanted to use very little shadow, to create a lightly defined look, so I didn’t apply a lot and did a lot of blending out. I added Earth to the crease  and very lightly into my outer corners, and blended that out as well, sweeping what was left on my lower lash line’s outer third. In  my inner corners and under brows, I applied Vanilla again for highlight.

I didn’t line my eyes, so instead I let the lashes do the talking. The FlowerColor Mascara is perfect for adding natural-looking length and volume without clumps. The result is separated, soft-looking lashes with great length. Mascara ingredients: Purified water, carnauba wax, palmitic acid (from palm oil), clay, phenoxyethanol and iron oxides. (Yes this mascara does contain phenoxyethanol, which I know is a bit of a hot topic. I do still use products that contain phenoxyethanol in them. I believe the concerns rest on the concentration limit, and I’m comfortable to use certain products that contain it as a last or second-to-last ingredient. This may change in the future, but as of right now, I don’t feel the need to eliminate all products that I own which contain this ingredient. Especially when they’re as good as this mascara!) Seriously, look at these lashes!

Image

I applied Cafe Au Lait to my lips, blotted, applied again, and blended with my fingers to create a stained, natural nude lip with a pretty, slightly brownish nude tint. I also applied Cafe Au Lait to my cheeks, and this made for a gorgeous creamy cheek colour, adding a pretty warm glow. I used Vanilla eyeshadow again as a cheekbone highlight. Cafe Au Lait lipstick ingredients: Castor oil, isopropyl palmitate (from palm oil), candelilla wax, 100 IU vitamin E, organic calendula oil, organic chamomile oil, organic jojoba oil, flower wax coated iron oxides.

ImageImage

Image

I didn’t use foundation, just whipped out my trusty OhSudz concealer for under my eyes and other small areas of pigmentation or slight blemishes. I LOVE how this look turned out. I adore using makeup to lightly define and enhance my features in the most natural way possible. I am very impressed by the range of Ecco Bella products I’ve been trying. I particularly enjoy the lipsticks and the mascara, both of which give impressive performance and great colour payoff. The lipsticks are creamy, pigmented and the shades are beautiful.

If you want a little more pop to your pout, just apply another coat of the lipstick and don’t blend it out so much! Here’s the result I got when I added another layer:

Image

I LOVE this lipstick because it can be sheered out to a beautiful brownish-nude stain or built up to a tan/brown nude with a deeper hue of rose. It’s a very versatile colour that I think would look amazing on many skin tones, and I love how well it performs as a cream blush as well.

I’m really enjoying the products I received from Ecco Bella, and can’t wait to show you more looks with some of the other goodies I’ve got. Now that I’ve finally been able to try this brand, I’m hooked!

Purely,

Stephanie

*Products were sent to me (with HUGE thanks!) from Ecco Bella free of charge, with hopes of a review. I do not guarantee a positive review or any review at all for that matter, for any products I receive. Whether I receive products as a gift from the brand, or purchase them myself, my opinions remain honest and unbiased*.

8 thoughts on ““Bare faced” with Ecco Bella

  1. Bare makeup looks are usually my least favorite, but I like this one! I think it’s the lip color that makes it perfect. Back when I was still a mainstream makeup user, I had swatched Ecco Bella’s pressed Shimmer Dusts and thought that they were the best highlighter shades of any brand – natural or mainstream.

Leave a Reply

