Espresso eyes and Berry lips with Everyday Minerals

I’d heard so much about Everyday Minerals from Sabrina over at Chickweed and Blush that I was stoked to connect with the brand on twitter, and even more excited when they generously sent me a package to play with!

I received a bunch of goodies, and I created a look I love with several of them. I’m quite impressed with what I’ve received and I plan to wear this look often!

The look:

Image

DSC_0822

Image

The palette: (Sorry, when I took these photos I had forgotten that my camera’s ISO was set really high from a previous shoot, so that’s why there’s a grainy vibe.)

EM3

Blush in Field of Roses: I adore this blush. This is a brand new Everyday Minerals shade, from the Rose Collection (http://www.everydayminerals.com/store/stories/choose-your-rose/) and I’m obsessed with the cool, vibrant pink. Initially I was hesitant because in the package, and even in swatching it comes across as an orchid shade, but blended into the skin it creates a gorgeous rosy glow. The pigmentation is great too, and I got a great blend on using my Everyday Minerals domed blush brush (I forgot to take brush photos, but these are stunning brushes with pretty polished wood handles and buttery soft bristles. I can’t get enough of them. The domed blush brush is perfect to get a well-blended cheek! I will post photos with another EM post soon!) Blush ingredients:  Mica (CI 77019). May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77742).

I Fancy You eyeshadow (furthest right shadow), was used all over my lid. This shadow is a neutral taupe in the packaging, but blends out (on my skin, anyway) to an almost honey-like light brown with golden tones.  It’s matte, so perfect for daytime wear. Ingredients: Mica (CI 77019). May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

Mrs. Coffee (middle shadow) is my favourite Everyday Minerals eyeshadow. I’m a sucker for deep browns, and this one is truly as dark as my favourite espresso. The name doesn’t hurt- I’m a coffee fanatic, so the cute caffeine reference pulls me in, but the colour is what I really love. Like the darkest chocolate you can imagine, this shadow is very nearly black. It’s also matte, and is perfect for the outer “V” (where I used it), and also stunning used with a damp eyeliner brush as a liner (I used it that way  too, on my upper and lower lash-lines). I’m really into brown smokey eyes right now, I think brown is such a nice change from greys and blacks and I love how this shadow makes my blue eyes pop, pop, pop! Just gorgeous. One you’ve layered it on a bit, this builds to a very strong pigment that lasts all day. I’m obsessed with looks that only require one or two shadows right now, and when I added my Jane Iredale Pure Lash lengthening mascara (holy lashes, Batman!), two shadows totally did the trick for this look! Mrs. Coffee is not listed on the Everyday Minerals site, but I will keep you updated.

Creme Concealer stick in Vanilla:
I’ll be honest; I didn’t “get” this concealer at first. I was applying it straight from the stick, and it seemed to slide around and not offer me much coverage. However, after using it for almost two weeks, I’ve gotten the hang of it and I love it! I’m glad I gave it a fair chance. I apply it with a concealer brush, and though it doesn’t give me the coverage I typically go for under my eyes (where I have really dark circles from lack of sleep), it gives me enough brightening and coverage in that area to feel confident. I set it with translucent powder because the formula is quite oily. That’s not a bad thing, but if you’ve got super oily skin, this might not be the concealer for you, unless you’re okay with setting it. I have dry skin so it’s not an issue, and I don’t mind setting with powder.  The trick to this concealer is to use a brush to blend in thin layers, building as you go. I would say for my under eyes it offers medium coverage and for other areas I can get it to full. I’m not blemish-prone, but I happened to have one when I received this concealer, and once I got used to the application, it really did offer impressive coverage. I also applied it to my whole face to see how it would cover my freckles (I love my freckles and don’t cover them often, but since I’m not blemish prone, I was curious to see how this concealer would stand up to them), and they almost disappeared. For this reason, I think that set with a powder, this concealer would make for a really nice medium coverage cream foundation as well! I definitely recommend if you’re looking for an affordable, non-toxic concealer to cover minor imperfections and blemishes, and offer light to medium coverage under the eyes. Ingredients: Limnanthes alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Wax, Sambucus Nigra (Elderberry) Fruit Extract, Tocopherol, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).
Tinted Lip Butter in Spring Berries:
I am obsessed with Lip Tints, and this is one of my all-time favourites. It offers a beautiful light berry stain, incredible moisture that lives up to its “butter” name, and a lovely shine that won’t quit. I love how fool-proof these are on the go – a quick swipe and you’re on your way. The coverage and colour is also buildable, you can take it to a slightly deeper berry tint with an added layer. I love this lip tint. It goes with any kind of eye makeup and doesn’t sink into the fine lines on my lips, but seems to gloss over them and give me pout a plump and pretty pop of hydrated colour. Bonus: makes for a lovely cream blush!
Ingredients: Ricinus communes (castor) seed oil, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, euphorbia cerifera  (candelilla) wax, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed wax, butyrospermum parka (shea) butter, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, passiflora incarnata  (passionfruit) seed oil, sclerocarya birrea (marula) seed oil, astrocaryum murumuru  seed butter, aroma (flavor)*, sambucus nigra (elderberry) fruit extract, tocopherol, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract. may contain (+/-): mica, titanium
dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), manganese violet  (CI 77742). *natural flavor.
Image
Left-to-right: Field of Roses blush, Spring Berries Tinted Lip Butter, Mrs. Coffee eyeshadow, I Fancy You eyeshadow, Vanilla Creme Concealer Stick.
What do you think of this look? Have you tried Everyday Minerals? I hope i’ve inspired you to, because I’m loving this brand, and want to thank them for gifting me with a generous package!
Purely,
Stephanie
3 thoughts on “Espresso eyes and Berry lips with Everyday Minerals

Leave a Reply

