7 current obsessions

I’m obsessing over some amazing green beauty products lately, and I thought I’d implement a semi-regular post, grouping current favourites in mini-reviews with photos. I’ll try to do this once a month. Hope you enjoy! All photos by me unless otherwise noted.

1. Josh Rosebrook Active Enzyme Exfoliator

Packed with powerhouse face foods like white willow bark (a potent anti-inflammatory), Sage (heals and tones imperfections), Stevia leaf (softening and tightening), and Bilberry (rich in anti-bacterial and antioxidant properties to detoxify and boost collagen and help minimize fine lines), just to name a few (check out that shot of the label for all of the powerful nutrients in this completely non-toxic exfoliator), this is a miracle in a jar.  I noticed smoother, softer skin immediately, and through continued use over the past month, it has definitely left me with a noticeable glow and reduced fine lines. It’s thick and creamy in texture, and you can feel it working deep down into your pores as you wear it. Army green in colour, this makes me feel as though I’m spoiling my skin with something a scuba diver has just scooped out of fresh, salty ocean water. With an amazing list of ingredients and a scent that reminds me of an herb garden, it’s no wonder I’m so obsessed with this luxurious exfoliator.  

ImageImageImage

Image

2. Norwex Antibacterial Microfiber Wash cloths

When my good friend from way back reached out to me and asked me if I would consider trying Norwex, I have to admit I was super skeptical that these cloths could do anything beyond what normal face cloths do. However, Robyn (from Robyn’s Norwex, which you can and should find here https://www.facebook.com/norwexfromrobyn)  is someone I know to be honest, and not at all a sucker for gimmicks, so I knew that if she was repping it, there must be something cool going for it. Robyn generously had some cloths sent to me (thank you, Robyn!), and she also took great care in helping me choose colours and explaining the product to me, as well as offering helpful tips. I am hooked on the Microfiber cloths for general face washing and makeup removal! There really IS a difference between these and regular face cloths. They feel like suede, and instead of dragging across your face or drying it out, they glide effortlessly, leaving your face clean, soft and makeup free. These cloths feel SO soft and I couldn’t believe how well they removed my makeup, without the help of a cleanser. I also use them to quickly clean up my toddler’s mess-prone face. Absolutely loving these and highly recommend them. Norwex Antibacterial Microfiber Wash Cloths are great cloths for removing makeup, regular facial cleansing, exfoliating or in the shower. Norwex stands behind their cloths with a 2 Year “proper use and care” Warranty. Norwex also offers a 60 day Satisfaction Guarantee.

DSC_0198

The above photo is of a Norwex cloth I have used to remove HEAVY eye and face makeup more than ten times, and has not been through the wash ONCE. There is mild staining, but after that many washes of lots of makeup, and only rinsing with water (if you use this to remove makeup, as Robyn kindly pointed out to me, you do need to rinse it well after use. The cloth is antibacterial, but makeup is not, so while the cloth is self-cleaning, you want to make sure you’re rinsing it well to remove makeup residue.)

3. Delizioso Skincare Lip and Cheek Stain in Dewy Raspberry

Holy smokes, is this a gloss, a tint, a balm, or a lipstick? Well, it’s all of the above. SUPER pigmented, packed with moisture, this GORGEOUS cross between a coral and a bright pink will lend your lips a lasting, luscious colour that POPS for hours before fading to a gorgeous stain. It looks phenomenal on cheeks too. So in love with this right now!! PERFECT for Spring’s grand entrance, and would be so hot with a brown/gold smokey eye in Summer!

DSC_0127 DSC_0158

Dewy_Raspberry

(product photo courtesy of Delizioso Skincare)

INGREDIENTS (*Certified Organic):
*Hemp Seed Oil, Avocado Butter, *Extra Virgin Olive Oil, *Jojoba Oil, Watermelon Seed Oil, Castor Vegetable Wax, Non GMO Natural Vitamin E, Kosher Certified flavor oil or Essential Oil (Raspberry). May contain mica, iron oxides, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide (non-FD&C natural pigments).
4.  TASTYFACE Organics Peppermint White Chocolate Shave Cream
TASTYFACE Organics is one of my favourite discoveries of 2014! Everything they make (by hand, in small batches, I might add) smells divine and feels just as luxurious, and this shave cream is no exception. It’s frothy, creamy, and smells like After Eights. It also gives a super-moisturizing, effortless shave, and I love that I only have to pass the razor over each area ONCE, because this cream takes the hair right off. Hubby had the same experience, which is great to know, since shaving is such a different story for men and women. He’s got VERY sensitive Rosacea-prone skin and many shaving creams irritate it, but he has reported a smooth, non-irritated shave, and his face definitely feels stubble-free for longer. Same story with my legs! I can get away with holding off shaving for a day longer than usual when I use this awesome shave cream. ESSENTIAL!
DSC_0741 DSC_0740

Doesn’t it look so inviting with those tiny bubbles? Like a white chocolate aero bar!

Ingredients:  coconut oil*, cocoa butter*, shea butter*, aloe vera*, castille soap (water, saponified organic coconut*, organic palm* and organic olive* oils (w/retained glycerin), organic hemp oil, organic jojoba oil, essential oils, citric acid, vitamin E), vitamin E* (from sunflower seed oil*), peppermint essential oil*, hand-crafted organic vanilla bean infused jojoba oil*, essential oils*

*organic and high quality source

5. Red Apple Lipstick “French Skirt” lipstick

If you’ve been following my blog, you know by now how in love I am with Red Apple Lipstick. These gluten-free, paraben-free gems deliver amazing pigment and lasting colour. French Skirt is my latest lipstick obsession – it’s a stunning baby pink with a really pretty sheen. I adore it! I love wearing on only my cheekbones, too. (I’m also wearing Red Apple Lipstick’s eye shadows in this photo, in Champagne, Sandcastle, and Yes you Canyon. I love these shadows! They’re so blend able and pigmented!)

FrenchSkirt2

FRENCHSKIRT_107__73434.1372889376.800.800

Product photo from Redapplelipstick.com

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Oleic/Linoleic/Linolenic Polyglycerides, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Cera Alba, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate from an all natural non gluten source, Prunis Dulcis (Almond ), Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Essence of Vanilla, May Contain: Titanium Dioxide ,Manganese Violet, Mica, Iron Oxide.

6. Jane Iredale Longest Lash Mascara

I adore this mascara! It boosts both the length and volume of my short, fair lashes, giving them a full, flirty look without weighing them down. No clumps or smudging, just lots and lots of lash. When I curl my lashes first, the effect I get from this mascara is va-va-va-voom! And without the curling, it’s still great for a natural, yet amplified daytime look. Love it, love it, love it.

BgSmsuzCQAAINMx

Water, Algae Extract, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Cellulose, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Algae Extract, Vanilla Tahitensis Fruit Extract, Sweet Almond Seed Extract, Tribehenin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Panthenol, Oleic Acid. May contain: Iron Oxides, Carmine, Titanium Dioxide.

7. Graydon  “The Cleanser”

When a rep for this Toronto-based brand reached out to me and asked me if she could send some product my way, I jumped at the chance. After all, Toronto is my former stomping grounds, and actually my place of birth, so I’m always excited to try anything from there. The Cleanser came into my life at just the right time, as I had finished up the cleanser I was using, and was a little sad about it! Enter Graydon, to cure me of my cleansing woes. THIS. CLEANSER. IS. AMAZING. It’s creamy, but not too thick, with a very light, almost floral scent. The Cleanser immediately gives my face a fresh, clean glow and is fabulous at removing all dirt and makeup, leaving behind no greasy feel or yucky residue; just ultra-soft, squeaky-clean skin. An absolute gem.

DSC_0199

Ingredients: distilled water (aqua), aloe vera juice (aloe barbadensis), apricot kernel oil (prunus armeniaca), coconut oil (cocos nucifera), perilla seed oil (perilla frutescens, beeswax (sera alba), lanolin (anhydrous), borax (sodium borate) and vitamin e (mixed tocopherols), in an all natural blend of essential oils and nothing else! *note- the one minor concern I do have with the ingredients is the borax, which has a rating of 5-6 on the Skindeep Database (depending on usage). HOWEVER, it is noted in this scoring that  this ingredient is determined safe for use in cosmetics, subject to concentration or use limitations – Safe for use in cosmetics with some qualifications. This is the second-to-last ingredient listed, so I’m pretty confident that it’s in a safe concentration, but will be following up with Graydon for confirmation.*

What are YOU obsessed with these days?

Purely,

Stephanie

5 thoughts on “7 current obsessions

    1. Hello, darling! I can honestly say I have not experienced any smudging or run-off with any of the Jane Iredale mascaras I won. The Norwex cloth is amazing! Make sure to order from Robyn if you end up trying some!

    1. Oooh, is that their official name? I didn’t get any info in my package, so I didn’t realize. I will update it to reflect my new knowledge! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

