Eco Fashion Summer Spectacular Vol. 3 feat. Blue Sky Clothing Co.!

Hey there! Things have been so busy in my world lately- I’ve got some prime copywriting jobs, have been working on my column for All Women Stalk, and of course, continue to chase a firecracker three-year-old around! My other half has taken the wee one to a playground, so while I have a few rare moments alone, I thought I’d take the opportunity to write a new Eco fashion post. Today I want to tell you about Blue Sky Clothing Company, an Eco-friendly, British Columbia brand owned by an inspirational and talented designer named Marilyn Robinson. I love supporting local whoever I can, so when I got the chance to have a phone conversation with Marilyn, I was so thrilled to know we are on the same page. We connected instantly, and the passion this woman has for her craft and her beautiful designs had me absolutely in awe. When she invited me to drop by one of the stores (there are five across the province!) and offered to send me with some outfits to review, I was ecstatic. I haven’t met Marilyn in person myself yet, but that’s going to happen in the coming weeks, and I can’t wait. My experience at the store felt like a bunch of girlfriends playing dress-up. The ladies were so warm and open, and they helped me choose just the right outfits to take home (not an easy task, since I basically wanted everything! Flowy fabrics, comfortable cuts and flattering pieces fill the store. From dresses to silk ponchos, bamboo pants to sun hats, there is something for every woman at any age. Before I show you the outfits I chose, here’s a bit more about Blue Sky. from Blueskyclothingco.com

About Us & Mission Statement
 
It is our commitment to make women feel good about themselves and save the planet one garment at a time. The owner and designer, Marilyn Robinson, believes in helping women to feel comfortable and beautiful without compromising the earth. 
 
Our process of making the garments is beneficial to the environment, as well as to all the people involved. We have two small manufacturing groups: In Bali, Indonesia, with the help of talented batik artists, we hand make the fabrics of our own design. In the Sichuan province of China, the bamboo is organically grown and processed. 
 
All Blue Sky Bamboo wear is certified by the Organic Crop Improvement Association and the OEKO-Tex Standard, which means that it is farmed, processed and manufactured environmentally. Bamboo is naturally organic, hypo-allergenic, UV protective and wicks moisture away from the skin. It feels like silk but washes like cotton. The bamboo that is used to make clothing is a different species than Pandas eat. Bamboo for clothing can grow up to a meter a day! 
 
Since the dying minimums in Canada are too high for our small company, we cannot make our own prints or fabric. Choosing to work over-seas has everything to do with creating unique fabric and design, and nothing to do with labour costs. Most of the sewing is done in the homes of our production teams, where they work the hours of their own choosing. Many of the sewers have been working with Marilyn for the 16 years that we have been in business. 
 
We offer you clothing that has been made with heart.
***************************************************************************
That, combined with the photos I’m about to show you, pretty much says it all, I think.
I am in LOVE with the fabrics, the feel, and the designs of my Blue Sky pieces. They are so well crafted and I get compliments whenever I wear them. In fact, I had three women ask me where I got my dress, and when I told them it came from just up the street, at a clothing store that features all locally designed pieces, they were thrilled!
The outfits:
Kaya dress w/front pockets: $69.00 (Rayon) with Long Shawl (Rayon blend) in Burnt Orange, $39.00 Shoes are Homegrown Lux Elite by Sole Rebels, $85.00, which can be found here Necklace: handmade by Suki Fox in Vancouver.
This dress is currently my favourite. I wear it at least a couple of times a week, because it looks amazing with casual shoes, like my gorgeous Sole Rebels seen here. (I  also think it would loo so adorable with a pair of Chuck Taylors!) and is just so easy to throw on and feel like you have a complete outfit. Adding the Long Shawl takes it to the next level. Speaking of the shawl, (which is more like a cardigan), this is another darling, comfy piece that can be styles a variety of ways! I’m in love with these two together! The front pockets on the dress are such a cute touch, and are perfect for a credit card, keys, and lip balm (because, really, what else do you need?)
ImageImage
Image
The accompanying Eco makeup:
Ecco Bella lipstick in Cafe Au Lait, Ecco Bella eyeshadows in Camel, Fawn and Earth, Ecco Bella blush in Earthy Rose, Pure Anada mascara in black, Ecco Bella concealer in Beige.
DSC_0294
Cream Silk Poncho: $39.00, Beaded Tiger’s Eye necklace with tassel  $19.00, Black Capri Yoga Pant (Bamboo blend) and Nikki long tank top in Khaki, $44 (bamboo blend), Sunhat: $19.00
Flip-flops: Bought forever ago, can’t remember where! Sunglasses: Thrifted
I am obsessed with this poncho. It is so versatile and pretty, light and airy. Perfect for Summer! The top is so comfy and flattering, and the pants are pure bliss to wear.
bluesky2Lores
blusesky1Lores
Carmen top with coppery beading, $59.00 (Rayon blend)
It’s called a top, but it’s so much more. I wear it with skinny jeans, with leggings, and as a bathing suit cover up (seen here). The flawy cut and “bat-wing” arms make this piece so elegant, and the copper beading is the perfect touch.
bluesky DSC_1507
Kiki Green/Yellow Gingham dress, $69.00 (cotton)
A super cute, feminine 50’s housewife type of dress with gorgeous rushing at the chest . Wear it with heels and a pretty cardi for a Summer wedding, flats for a day trip, or just throw caution to the wind like I did and pair it with cowboy boots (thrifted) and red lipstick. The possibilities are endless!!
bluesky5
I hope that this post has given you a glimpse into a company I feel very strongly about. Blue Sky is all about locally designed, diverse pieces that celebrate women of all ages and sizes. I truly believe in the brand and the passion that thrives at their core. Special thanks for Marilyn for providing me with these exceptional pieces, and the beautiful, intelligent women at the North Van location, who treated me like an old friend.
Wishing you lots of sun and warm waters,
Stephanie
Ordering & Information (Yes! You can get these pieces shipped to you!)
Please email or phone with the list of items you are interested in. We will contact you with further information.
Thank you so much and may Blue Sky shine on you!
Phone: 604-365-0780
Store Locations & Hours
All Stores are open Monday through Sunday, 
from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.
Hours may change seasonally. Please call your local 
Blue Sky store for further details.
 
Lower Mainland:
2029 West 4th Ave, Kitsilano 
604-620-8903
1312 Commercial Dr, East Vancouver
604-566-9976
1533 Lonsdale Ave, North Vancouver
604-988-4888
Kootenays:
511 Baker St., Nelson
250-354-0101
350 Balfour Ferry Landing, Balfour
 250-229-4434 (seasonal)
5 thoughts on “Eco Fashion Summer Spectacular Vol. 3 feat. Blue Sky Clothing Co.!

Leave a Reply

