Four beauty products I’m obsessed with right now

Hey, loves! It’s been forever, so I’m just gonna go ahead and jump right into it. I could spend five minutes apologizing about my lack of posts as of late (with the usual explanations involving work, general life, and parenting a very fierce little three-year-old redheaded fairy princess), but I think I’d rather apologize by just POSTING, already! So here we go. Four of my current beauty obsessions! Stay tuned next week for four Eco Fashion Obsessions, and the following week for four Eco Jewellery Obsessions.

*all photos by Stephanie Deline (yours truly) unless otherwise noted.*

1. Strawberry Hedgehog Organic Whipped Body creme

 

DSC_0573

DSC_0600

 

Want super-smooth, touchable skin that smells like chocolate? Then this green, clean body soufflé is for you. Think of this handmade gem as frosting for your body, minus the stickiness and the guilt.  A sample of the Organic Whipped Body Creme was generously gifted to me from Tracy Perkins, founder of this celebrated natural skin and body care brand, along with some other goodies to keep your eyes out for. It arrived at a very opportune time. I was experiencing some dryness and little bumps on my arms, so I was happy to receive this. Consider that situation smoothed over! (Get it? Smoothed over? Never mind.) This truly earns its “Whipped Creme” moniker, with a delightfully decadent, thick but somehow light-as-a-cloud  texture that melts into the skin like butter. It leaves behind zero greasy residue, but does leave a warm, light chocolate-y scent (from the organic cocoa butter within it) and silky, quenched skin. So luxurious. Can’t recommend it enough. I definitely want a full size of this for Winter! Ingredients: aloe vera**veggie emulsifying wax, veggie glycerin, sweet almond* & apricot kernel oils* shea* & cocoa* butter, vitamin e (soy) * = organic. Organic Whipped Body Creme (Click that. Click it!! You can thank me later.)

 

 

 

2. Scentuals Body Care tinted lip moisturizers

scentualshires

DSC_0093

DSC_2421 DSC_2425 DSC_0001

 

These pigmented little pout pleasers are true Eco beauty gems! My gosh, they boast such saturated colour, you’d think they were lipstick if it weren’t for the way they shower your lips with enough moisture to rival your favourite lip balm. Seriously, need I say more? Well, yeah. I should also mention that the colours they come in are simply stunning. There’s soft, baby pink  (Flirt), rich cinnamon  (Sultry), Vampy merlot (Bombshell) and sophisticated medium pink (Passion, which I’m wearing in the above photo. It’s my personal favourite, though I wear them all and I’m thinking I’ll be a Sultry girl come Fall). There’s something for practically every  lip-product lover here, which is tough to accomplish in four shades. So, here’s the gist;  Non-toxic formula? Check. Quenched, soft lips? Check. Pretty colour with impressive lasting power? Check. And I can’t forget the slick, classy packaging with Mae West quotes on the back. What a standout touch. Another plus? Scentuals is a Coquitlam, B.C. brand, which makes me happy because I love to support local. What’s not to love about Scentuals Tinted Lip Moisturizers? Nothing! Snap ’em up. They’re  just ten bucks a pop and I happen to have a discount code! Use the code sheissoeco_20  for 20 percent off your first order. Lucky you! Make sure to let me know which one is your favourite.

Ingredients:  Organic beeswax, Organic sunflower oil, Organic coconut oil, Organic shea butter, Organic carnuba wax, Vitamin E, Flavour: natural plant extracts ,Colour: natural micas 

Left-to-right:  Flirt, Passion, Sultry, Bombshell. Swatches are in the same order, from top to bottom.

Get them here, and don’t forget the code!

 

3. The Lash Project Mascara from Red Apple Lipstick

 

DSC_0166

 

So, here’s the thing; mascara is kind of a big deal for me, I won’t beat around the beauty bush – my lashes suck. They’re wimpy. They’re short, sparse and practically see-through. However, give them a good curler and a great mascara and something decent can be whipped up. The challenge for me for quite some time was to find a natural or at least significantly less toxic mascara that stood up to my tried and true drug store favourite. For the record, I haven’t turned back to that one since I made the commitment to purge all my toxic beauty products, but that’s not to say I wasn’t tempted.

Luckily, I’ve come across four mascaras (out of literally dozens) that are either natural or close enough, and pack a lengthening, voluminous punch without the smudging, flaking or clumping. Is The Lash Project one of them? Definitely. I’ve been lucky enough to try a vast selection of products from gluten-free beauty giant Red Apple Lipstick, and have not been disappointed once.  Is this the cleanest, purest formula I’ve encountered in a mascara? It’s not. But mascara, being the essential that it is for me, is something I’m willing to bend a bit on. A BIT. For me, that means I’ll use a mascara that contains phenoxyethanol (like this one does) as long as it kills it in the performance department and doesn’t contain any red flags like parabens, bismuth oxychloride, petrochemicals, SLS, dyes, etc. Yes, phenoxyethanol is an ingredient I try to avoid. However, the reality is that mascara does need to be preserved (it’s safer to have a preservative than to subject your eyes to the bacteria that grows in a mascara without one). It’s worth noting that I don’t apply mascara all the way to the roots, so there’s less danger of anything getting into my eyes. And to be honest, I’m not quite convinced that phenoxyethanol deserves the bad rep it gets. It very well could, but I just don’t feel I know enough about it yet to make that call. I’m actually going to devote a few hours next month to researching this ingredient to find out all I can and read as much from both sides of the argument as possible. I should also mention that I have never reacted to phenoxyethanol, so I know for sure that it doesn’t irritate me. I still don’t feel comfortable using more than a couple of products that contain it, and those have to be really special, but for a mascara this good, I won’t blink twice about it (see what I did there? I won’t BLINK twice? You know, instead of I won’t THINK twice? Aren’t I funny today?)

So! This wasn’t meant to be a post about phenoxyethanol, I swear. The mascara. It’s amazing. Truly amazing. It seriously gives sky-high length and va-va-voom volume without a single clump in sight. And because it contains some pretty powerful lash conditioners, (more about that in a second), it leaves my lashes feeling soft and supple as opposed to stuff and brittle. This mascara offers great separation, and three coats get you a major false fringe. Plus, it’s SUPER easy to remove, and leaves no racoon eyes in its wake. In addition to all this, The Lash Project doesn’t irritate my eyes AT ALL. My eyes are super susceptible to itch, watering and irritation. so this is a huge plus.The Lash Project lives up to its promise to “take back your lashes”, offering everything I want in a mascara. The $42 price tag is a bit hefty, but for a REALLY good mascara that doubles as a lash treatment and has a decidedly less toxic ingredients list than the average mascara, I’d say splurge if you have the cash. Your lashes will definitely say thank you.

I stole this from the Red Apple Lipstick website, to give you an idea of the beneficial ingredients:

Here’s Some Ingredients Your Lashes Are Going To LOVE

 

– Ginko Biloba Extract
A great “Circulation Enhancer” – which helps the collagen in your skin stay full and healthy. It conditions the skin around the root of the eye lash to keep the skin tight. The tightened skin helps your body hold onto that lash, and helps it grow straight.


– Acorus Calamus Root Extract
This anti-inflammatory is a dream – internal inflammation of the skin is reduced, as this extract conditions the hair and skin. An extract from the roots of the “sweet flag” plant, this super ingredient relieves skin irritations.


– Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17
This little guy is a keratin stimulating mamba-jamba. Keratin is the body’s main protein in your hair. The more of Keratin, the stronger, and healthier the hair. This is a naturally occurring amino acid that your body needs in order to grow healthy hair… and your lashes LOVE IT.


– Allantoin
An amazing rejuvenator – it is an anti-irritant that supports cellular function on a micro level, which promotes healing and regulatory function. This extract from the comfrey plant, soothes and protects skin. Your lash follicle will do a happy dance.

Now, here’s a little info and diagram (also from the Red Apple website) on what’s NOT in The Lash Project:

If you’re like most women I know, you miss the gorgeous lashes of your youth. You likely have a makeup drawer full of various mascaras and treatments, and you switch back and forth, hoping maybe one day, one of them would work again, right? At the very least, you own one or two. Everyone who takes a daily makeup routine seriously does. I know I DID.

Common ingredients like polybutene, paraben, dimethicone, petrolatum and petroleum distillates, propylene glycol, Triethanolamine (TEA), Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Ethyl acetate, Diazolidinyl, and others cause your body to go on overload and clog your follicles and lash roots.Your body wages war

at the site of your lash root as these ingredients soak their way into your root … which causes redness, itchiness, puffiness and tears… not to mention dangers of dermatitis reactions to gluten, soy, nuts, dairy and fragrances… a painful battle.

 

But the real reason I love this mascara? It does this:

asssaDSC_0399djdw

I’ve seen it look even more amazing in some of the blog reviews I’ve read, but my lashes are just never going to be the long, lush fan I dream of. So I work with what I’ve got, and I demand a mascara that maximizes every little lash. I have virtually no lashes to bat naturally, so I expect my mascara to pull its weight and change that, even if it’s just a little bit. The Lash Project stands up to this challenge, and then some. I love this mascara.  Ingredients: Water, Acrylate Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Iron Oxides, Carnauba Wax, Glycerin, Synthetic Beeswax, Tromethamine, Polyvinylalcohol, Mica, Silica, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Myristoyl Pentapeptide-17, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Bergamot Leaf Extract, Octapeptide-2, Acorus Calamus Root Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Allantoin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol

 http://www.redapplelipstick.com/mascara

 

4. Celtic Complexion Youth Infusion 7 High Potency Serum

DSC_1013

 

Y’all know how I feel about Celtic Complexion by now (um, madly in love with the whole brand), so this shouldn’t be a surprise. Jennifer Devlin, the founder, C.E.O. and artisan skincare maker behind Celtic Complexion, is someone I am so proud to call a friend. This woman…she’s got brains, beauty and business savvy to the nines, so it’s only fitting that her homemade collection of skincare is the cream of the crop. Jennifer and I have worked extensively together, and she recently surprised me with all of my favourites from the Celtic Complexion range. I heart Celtic Complexion because it’s truly one of the cleanest and most effective skincare lines I’ve encountered in my green beauty journey. Jennifer knows her s*@t. And she cares. It’s really that simple, and simple works.

This serum always leaves my skin feeling and looking brighter, younger and more awake. It’s got this insanely gorgeous fragrance that leans heavily on the Bulgarian Rose it contains, and I just FEEL amazing applying it. There are certain products that impart an instant, amazing feeling. Whether that’s psychological or physical doesn’t really matter much, but I think it’s a combination. My skin actually feels fresher, more cared-for and like it’s been bathed in luxury when I use a Celtic Complexion product, and the Youth Infusion serum is certainly not an exception. When I first tried this serum (which is of a thin, watery texture that slips easily onto the skin and absorbs quickly), I was using the small trial size, and although I loved it then, I didn’t see the complete benefits until I began regular use of the full size bottle. I’ve been using it for a month, and have noticed visible reduction in the lines that are starting to form (they’re not GONE but they are less obvious for sure), firmer, more toned facial and neck skin, and a brighter overall appearance. I know that Jennifer spends so much time researching, formulating and crafting, and that’s so very evident in the end result.

 

Get it here: www.celticcomplexion.com

 

For the record, I’m also using and ADORING Celtic Complexion Creme, Coconut Creme Cleanser, and lip balm. And a little birdie told me that we can expect a Celtic Complexion cosmetics line soon. I can’t lie, that makes me feel like a giddy little girl.

Here is some information from the Celtic Complexion website about the ingredients found in this treasure of a serum:

The Queen of All Oils… Bulgarian Rose:
Considered the “Queen” of all essential oils, it is also the most costly, (at $4600/lb) and rarest (it takes 60,000 petals to produce just one ounce of oil). It has the highest oxygen levels of any essential oil, thus making it the most regenerative of all oils.
An Anti-Aging Powerhouse… Indian Rose:
Not as fragrant as their Bulgarian counterpart, the oil of the Indian rose is none-the-less an anti-aging powerhouse. Rich in vital nutrients essential to cell renewal, it also delivers oxygen to the surface of the skin, giving it that “rosy glow”.
Traded Like Gold… Frankincense:
Used for many thousands of years, the Frankincense tree has perhaps the greatest association with spiritual practice of any plant on earth. In most of the great ancient cultures, including the Egyptian, Babylonian, Persian, Hebrew, Greek and Roman civilizations, it has been sought after by kings and valued as highly as gold. If you ever wondered why it was so prized, consider this: “Its essence is responsible for preserving mummies for thousands of years, so consider just how well it will preserve your skin!”
30 Years to Extract… Sandalwood:
Extracted from an evergreen tree native to India. It is so valuable that each tree is owned and controlled by the government. The oil of the sandalwood tree is very difficult to obtain. The tree must be allowed to mature, sometimes taking thirty years or more, before the oil can be extracted from its roots. It is, in part, for this reason that the essential oil of the sandalwood tree is so prized and so expensive. It is a master at helping the skin retain moisture.
Natures Retin-A… Carrot Seed:
Rich in natural Vitamin A (known as carotenoids), it also assists in removing toxin and water build up in the skin giving it a fresher more firmer appearance. Carotenoids directly reduce the damaging effects of UV radiation. Carrots contain over 600 identified carotenoids, making them an unparalleled source of antioxidants.
Essential Fatty Acids: 
The Potent Fountain of Youth Essence Responsible For Velvet-Smooth SkinEssential Fatty acids are responsible for the structure of the cell membrane and give skin its elasticity and mattress-like “bounce”. I have put the three richest sources of EFA’s in each bottle of Youth Infusion 7: Coconut oil, borage oil and evening primrose oil. These antioxidants are carried deep into the skin, plumping cells and bathing them in vital nutrients.

I have to run before my daughter dunks my cell phone in a glass of water (again) or smears lipstick in her hair (again), but it was great chatting with you guys, and I hope you enjoyed this post. Tell me, what are your beauty obsessions right now? Let’s talk!

Purely,

Stephanie

 

*All products in this post were sent to me as gifts from the brands. Receiving product without a monetary transaction does not influence my opinion.*

6 thoughts on “Four beauty products I’m obsessed with right now

  1. You know how much I love your writing style Stephanie… you’re amazing! Guess what? I got to try Red Apple Lipstick & I just reviewed the lippies I got. They’re gorgeous. I absolutely love reading about natural products from you. And I love Celtic Complexion & can’t wait for the makeup line!

    1. Hello love! Certainly! Pure Anada, Wildrose Magnolia and LUVU Beauty are my other three brilliant mascaras!! The Physician’s a Formula for some reason does nothing for my lashes, and I’ve yet to try the Pacifica, though some of their ingredients have caused me to steer clear of a lot of their products, I must admit I haven’t checked out their mascara ingredients! Reasonably clean? Good performance? Fill me in!

Leave a Reply

