My current skincare routine

Hello, darlings! I’m not going to launch into the usual apology for being MIA, because if you follow my blog, you are all too familiar with the fact that my life is crazy and I post when I can!

Today, I’m offering a post I’ve had a LOT of requests for lately, which is my current skincare routine. These are my favourite natural skincare saviours, and I’ve locked down a regimen that has imparted the smoothest, softest, brightest and clearest skin I’ve ever had!

So here we go!

*Cleanse!*

I am obsessed with the Grapefruit + Mint Cleansing Balm from the amazing Silkka Garden Apothecary. Fellow Canuck and mother Liisa Allen is the founder/owner and handcrafting skincare goddess steering the Silkka ship, and she graciously sent me a selection of her beautiful products. This balm is a dream come true- it’s very concentrated, so a tiny bit goes MILES, and it removes makeup like a champ, leaving a tingly (minty!), refreshed sensation. My skin feels super clean after using this and the scent is just out of this world. I use it before bed, every single night, and it always makes for the perfect canvas for the rest of my nighttime skincare routine. I usually just wash my face with water in the morning, but there are times when I feel the need to cleanse, and this handy little amber glass jar does the trick then, too. Like I said, it’s VERY concentrated, which means it can get heavy or greasy and hard to remove from your face IF you use too much- so the trick to this is really using it sparingly. BONUS: It’ll last and last! I LOVE products that are handmade, especially by female entrepreneurs, and Silkka Garden Apothecary does not disappoint. Lots of love obviously goes into these products. The proof is in the pudding!

Fun fact: Silkka means “pure and simple” in Finnish! How appropriate, given Liisa’s heritage and the values she embraces!

Ingredients: Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) seed oil, Camellia sinensis (seed) oil, Butyrospermum parkii (Shea butter), Mango (Mangifera indica) butter, non-GMO Glycine (soy butter) soja, Cera alba (beeswax) and essential oils of Citrus paradisi (Grapefruit) and Mentha arvensis (Peppermint).

Worth noting: “*Unrefined Shea butter is notorious for turning “gritty” in warmer climates, or depending on the season. These particles are not truly “gritty,” but more like exfoliating beads. If these beads bother you, warm the jar gently in a water bath until the product has softened, and place immediately in the fridge or freezer (no longer than 15 minutes).” FYI: I LOVE the “grit”!

DSC_0100

DSC_0103

DSC_0104

 

All photo in this post by Stephanie Deline (that’s me!) unless otherwise noted.

 

*Moisturize!*

Hands down my favourite moisturizer right now is Cocoon Apothecary’s Rosey Cheeks Facial Cream. It’s got a buttery, creamy texture, smells like fresh roses, and makes my face glow with supreme hydration. Handcrafted by another Canadian lady, (in fact, Cocoon Apothecary is based in Kitchener, Ontario – my old stomping grounds!), Cocoon Apothecary is a fine purveyor of eco-friendly, non-toxic small-batch products with fantastic ingredients. This cream is just AMAZING- no greasy residue, no heaviness, just a lovely texture and deep penetration that makes it the perfect all-day and all-night moisturizer. I use it every day and it makes my skin light up! I did receive this as a gift from the founder.  Rosey Cheeks Facial Cream comes in a HUGE glass bottle, and it’s another one of those “a little goes a long way” products, so I wholeheartedly recommend it. It’s $40, but worth every penny.

DSC_0117 DSC_0118

 

 

Repair!

Like everyone else on the planet, I’m big into serums  and oils right now. My two favourites are the Youth Infusion 7  High Potency Serum from Celtic Complexion and the Rosehip + Pomegranate Facial Oil from Silkka Garden Apothecary. I find both of these amazing oils/serums to be beautifully fragrant, delightfully reparative and deeply rejuvenating. My skin just drinks these up, and I love them both equally. I alternate nights with these and my skin thanks me in the morning! Yours will too.  Find out more on the benefits of these products by visiting the links!

Youth Infusion 7 High Potency Serum Ingredients:
Fractionated coconut oil, carrot seed oil, Indian rose oil, Indian sandalwood oil, frankincense oil, borage seed oil, evening primrose oil, Bulgarian rose oil.

Rosehip + Pomegranate Facial Oil ingredients: Rosa rubiginosa (Rosehip) seed oil, Camellia sinensis (Camellia) seed oil, Oryza sativa (Rice bran) oil, Punica granatum (Pomegranate) seed oil, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) seed oil and essential oils of Michelia Alba (Magnolia) and Citrus aurantium amara (Neroli).

DSC_1013

DSC_0116

Special Skin Treats:

Once a week, I indulge in Cocoon Apothecary’s amazing Ancient Mud Natural Face Mask. This supremely natural mask is highly potent, and I definitely notice tighter skin (in a good way) and reduced pores . A detoxifying gem! Minimal -yet POWERFUL- ingredients such as Dead Sea Mud and glacial marine clay (from beautiful British Columbia, where I reside!) are both known for their ability to absorb and remove impurities, and my skin definitely reaps these rewards from this product. Here’s more about this luxurious mask:

“Detoxify, exfoliate and tighten skin with two of nature’s most potent beauty treatments, Dead Sea mud and Canadian glacial marine clay. Dead Sea mud has been used since ancient times as a health and beauty treatment. It remineralizes the skin with essential nutrients and purifies pores of toxins and pollutants. Glacial marine clay from the coast of British Colombia is an extremely fine powder that absorbs deep into pores to pull out contaminants and excess oil. Both the mud and the clay work synergistically to pull out the bad and leave the good. The addition of neroli and rose essential oils allows antioxidants to reach deep into pores and creates a lovely fresh scent. Use per week avoiding eye area. Not for highly sensitive skin.Ingredients: Dead Sea mud, glacial marine clay, neroli essential oil, rose essential oil.”

0100_AMFM__11288.1411713951.1280.1280

I borrowed the above photo from the Cocoon Apothecary website, as the lid on mine is stained with the mask, due to my three year old getting into it! The below ones are mine though!

DSC_0112DSC_0113I love the seaweed green colour and the thick, dry texture. it’s just so raw!

Chiaderm anti-aging balm

When this brand reached out to me and asked me to try their new skincare line, featuring Chia seeds, I was thrilled! I have been implementing chia seeds into my diet and noticing a big difference in the way I feel, so naturally I was excited to try a skincare brand formulated with Chia seeds, which have many healthy benefits and have been receiving quite a buzz on their anti-aging properties. This balm is very thick, almost like a petroleum jelly texture without the chemical smell or toxins. I just love the way it feels on my skin, and since using it, I have noticed that the minor redness in certain areas of my skin has virtually vanished. It’s very concentrated and quite heavy, so I use it every other night before bed. I am really impressed with this balm so far! I haven’t noticed any dramatic anti-aging effects yet, but the lines that have appeared in the past couple of years do appear a little less deep and a little less noticeable to me.  That said, I’ve only been using to for a month every other night, and that’s not enough time to see any dramatic anti-aging result. so I’ll get back to you on this! This is another very concentrated product, so moderation is key!

What I can say is that with all of these products combined, and especially with the implementation of this balm, I am very happy with my skincare routine. I feel that the balm is the perfect finishing touch to a lineup of stellar, natural products that I adore and that have brought my skin countless benefits.

Meet your new best friend – The ultimate balm. Chia extract is paired with complementary ingredients such as bergamot, a rare Italian citrus fruit extract with medicinal properties. Other key ingredients include beeswax, honey and royal jelly extract to increase emollient properties. A natural antibacterial and anti-fungal product, the balm can be applied to burnt, cut or pruritic (dry/ irritated) skin, expediting the healing process and reducing the appearance of redness and scarring.

DSC_0109 DSC_0119

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 7.41.24 PM

(Sorry for the beat-up box! Things like that don’t really stand a chance at my house these days!)

So there you have it! Have you tried anything here? Do you think you would like to try anything in this post? What are YOUR skincare must-haves? Do let me know in the comment section below!

Purely,

Stephanie

DSC_0122

(No concealer, no foundation – just great skincare!)

 

 

4 thoughts on “My current skincare routine

  1. Your complexion is amazing! Ditch your concealer and foundation forever. :o) I used to think skincare regimens were silly and unnecessary, but when I became obsessed with natural and cruelty-free beauty products this year, I finally understood the fuss. My current favorites are the Restore Lavender Facial Serum and Illuminate Eye Brightening Balm from R.P. Apothecary on Etsy. I use both daily. The serum absorbs effortlessly – unlike any oil I have ever tried – and it smells earthy and amazing. The under eye balm is just plain miraculous. After less than a week of use, my partner asked if I had started using a different concealer and commented that my circles looked lighter. Needless to say, it became an instant holy grail item. Indie brands are simply the best.

    1. Wow, thank you Brittany!! The under eye balm sounds like it needs to be added to my essentials! I’m going to look gat up, you’ve got me excited!!! Always nice to hear from you, you really need to start your own blog!!!

Leave a Reply

