Review- Pure Anada Princess Polish

As the mother of a three-year-old girl who is a total tomboy in a tutu (in other words, a wonderful eclectic mix between race-car loving, bug-inspecting and glitter-adoring fashion-obsessed), non-toxic products are important to me. As a green beauty blogger, I’m lucky that I get to try the best of the best in clean, green beauty.

Of course, as much as I want to minimize my three-year-old’s use of such products, (she is, after all, still so small, and I don’t want her using makeup and products of the like just yet), it’s impossible to completely eliminate her exposure to these things, since it’s what I do. And I have to tell you, she is just enthralled with it. More than once, she’s dug into my stash and ended up looking like a crazy, albeit adorable, fairy clown.

So what’s a green beauty blogger mama to do, especially when this fiery little three-year-old demands nail polish? Well, when you’re me, you turn to Pure Anada’s Princess Cosmetics and nail polish- a brand specifically formulated with less intensity and simple ingredients, geared towards the wee ones so that they feel a little glam with their own stash, and maybe, just maybe, keep clear of their mother’s for a while.

Now, I’m not super stoked on the idea of my little one wearing polish at such a young age, BUT once in a while, when she’s been really good, I’ll give in. When I do, my go-to isPure Anada Princess Polish. Why? Glad you asked.

image

When I think of the ideal polish for little fingers, I think of this one. Here’s why.

1) The polish that goes on my daughter’s fingers must NOT have that nail polish smell. Because it is water-based,Pure Anada’s Princess Polish does NOT have that nail polish smell. A lot of polishes, even if they are 5-free, (free from the five main offenders in nail polish- Toluene, Dibutyl Phthalate (DBP), Formaldehyde Formaldehyde Resin and Camphor- still have that strong polish smell, and that’s NOT something I want my daughter inhaling. So the fact that this polish is not only 5-free, but water-based as well to eliminate the smell makes it perfect for my princess.

image

*colour shown- Cherry on top*

2) Just because it’s water-based doesn’t mean it’s a weakling! Yes, water-based polishes with short ingredient lists tend to last for a shorter period of time than mommy’s polish, and yes, you may have to do some touch-ups, but come on- do we really need long-lasting, chip-free polish for our little ones? I think not, since it’s really just for fun at this point. That being said, I am still really impressed with how this polish holds up for a water-based kid-friendly polish. Make no mistake- the colour is vibrant and rich, and with two coats, your princess will feel like a star with gorgeous, glam nails.

IMG_4703-2

3) It’s virtually mess-free. The gentle, water-based formula means that my little girl can practice applying herself (and she does, as evidenced in the photos- but, for a three-year-old, she has a pretty steady hand!) under my supervision. Any drips can be easily wiped away, whereas with typical polish that’s not the case. I appreciate that when it dries on her nails, it hangs around for the party, but if and when we want it off, it’s simple to remove- I just soak her hands and then use a baby wipe. I kid you not, some of the polish dropped on my wood kitchen table and came off with ease with the use of a baby wipe. It even comes out of clothes! Bonus: It’s only $10 per bottle, which lasts for TONS of applications. You can buy it alone HERE or in a Princess Pack, which comes with a polish, a roll-on glitter and a slightly tinted lip balm- all of which are adorable and non-toxic. It’s only five dollars more to get the pack- which comes in a sweet little organza bag, so I recommend going that route. http://www.thepureboutique.com/princess-cosmetics-gift-pack/

So that’s my take on Pure Anada Princess Polish. It’s the perfect way to make my little one feel extra pretty during dress-up- without the toxins, smell, mess or commitment of regular polish. And the most important thing? How happy it makes her and how much fun she has wearing it. The smile says it all.

image

image
Pure Anada Princess Polish ingredients: Water, Acrylates Copolymer, Butoxy Diglycol, Methylisothiazolinone, Hydroxxethylcellulose, Mineral Pigments: Ultramarines, Iron Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, OR Chromium Hydroxide Green

*Disclosure- product was sent to me with hopes of an honest review, which is exactly what this is. I do not review everything sent to me, and only review the products I wish to. Receiving a product without purchasing it does not affect my opinion.*

all photos by Stephanie Deline (She’s So Eco)

One thought on “Review- Pure Anada Princess Polish

Leave a Reply

