Review: Pure Daily Essentials Makeup Remover

I admit it – I have never been big on makeup remover. I kind of always thought it was just another product to clutter my bathroom counter- one I felt I didn’t really need, to be honest.  That being said, lately I have found that even using coconut oil  or regular cleanser to remove makeup left me with at least some (and sometimes lots of) smearing and usually a big, stubborn mess all over my face- well, okay, the makeup was off my eyes- but now it was streaked all over my cheeks! Kind of defeats the purpose, no? I was finding that I was spending more time than I wanted to removing makeup. I use natural, mineral makeup which can be extremely pigmented and difficult to wash off, so proper removal is key.

Enter the lovely Tanya, founder of Langley, B.C. skin and body care brand Pure Daily Essentials. Tanya reached out to me and asked me if I’d like to try some of her handmade products, and after browsing her website, I decided to put something on my wish list that I never have before; makeup remover! Yes, I was sceptical, but I’m really glad I put this makeup remover on my list, because it does a fantastic job!

Make-Up-Remover-500x500

photo- Puredailyessentials.com

Pure Daily Essentials makeup remover is a simple formula comprised of oils that are both gentle and effective at cleansing, hydrating and protecting the skin, while erasing all traces of makeup WITHOUT rinsing. I just put a few pumps onto a cotton ball and swipe a few times- voila! Mascara, eyeliner, shadows- gone! Without smudging, smearing or irritation. Bonus: it’s a super gentle combo of fabulous oils like sweet almond oil, lavender and calendula- so it’s all natural and easy on my sensitive eyes. The scent leans heavily toward the lavender- which is lovely and calming.

 This makeup remover offers a very clean and easy makeup removal with the added benefits of natural oils that protect the delicate, sensitive skin around the eye. 50 mls (1 FL. OZ) of this makeup remover is $16.95, and since a little goes a long way, plus the performance is exceptional, I’d say it’s well worth it. Maybe I’m a makeup remover believer after all!

Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 11.39.11 AM

Top right photo is me with two kinds of eyeshadow, eyeliner and three coats of mascara. Bottom right is my eye literally thirty seconds later, after using Pure Daily Essentials makeup remover on a cotton ball- no water, no rinsing! So simple! And in case you need another reason to grab this awesome product, ten percent of sales are donated to battered women’s support services. To sum it up; you need this in your life! Get it here: http://www.puredailyessentials.com/facial/make-up-remover.html

Why bother with natural makeup remover like this? With makeup remover, it’s especially important to go natural- all the chemicals in mainstream/drugstore makeup remover are REALLY harsh and don’t belong anywhere near your pretty peepers! For example, take a look at best-selling (and more expensive)  Rinse-Off Makeup Solvent from Clinique. Here are the ingredients in that product:

WaterPeg-32Butylene GlycolDisodium CocoamphodiacetatePeg-6Trisodium EdtaMethylparabenPropylparabenButylparaben

Hold up, are you kidding me? THREE kinds of parabens? For something as simple as removing makeup? WHY? There is no reason at all why a makeup remover should be so chock full of chemicals like Clinque’s and many other mainstream brands are, especially when natural oils are just as effective. It should also be noted that I had to dig deep to find these ingredients. They are not disclosed on Clinique’s website (I guess they don’t think people need to know what’s in these products- which shows they have lots to hide.)

By comparison, check out the ingredients of Pure Daily Essentials Makeup Remover. Ingredients: Prunus amygdalus dulcis (Sweet almond) oil, Olea europaea (Olive) fruit oil, Symphytum officinale (Comfrey) root extract, Calendula officinalis (Calendula) flower extract, Anthemis nobilis (Chamomile) flower extract, Lavandula angustifolia (Lavender). No alcohol, GMO’s, petroleum-based products, parabens, or synthetic fragrances. Cruelty free. Kind of makes you think, doesn’t it? Consciously, Stephanie *Disclaimer: Product sent graciously by the company for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

