My small, PERFECT Eco wedding!

Greetings, beauties! I’ve been away for a while, I know. Many things have been happening – all great things! I’ve been doing a lot of copy and content writing (press releases, product descriptions, etc.), while balancing full-time motherhood, aaaaaaand….being a newlywed!  Yes, I got married in May! It was a beautiful, sacred ceremony in Lighthouse Park where myself, my lovely groom, my daughter, and two close friends with their little man gathered with our officiant and we were united in marriage. After nearly seven years together, and a four-year engagement, my now-husband Jordan and I decided to start really digging our heels in and planning in February. Within our discussions, we discovered that the wedding we thought we wanted was not only out of our price range, but also not exactly what we truly did want in our hearts. We realized two major things – firstly, we didn’t want to wait, and secondly,  we wanted it small. Like, really small – mainly because we felt very compelled to DO it and not wait to make big plans. We planned our little wedding in four months. We chose friends to be our witnesses instead of family because we didn’t think it would be fair to have some family members and not others – and the ceremony we chose only allowed for a total of four people (not including small children).

The rings:

Our rings came from Etsy- I wanted something unique and beautiful, affordable and handmade by artisans as opposed to mass manufacturers or multi-million dollar companies. Late last year, my beautiful antique Birks engagement ring went down the drain (literally) while I was dip-dyeing my hair, so I decided to get two rings from the lovely Joanne Rowan, a Calgary-based jeweller, designer and metal worker who creates the most mystical, magical pieces with earthy nature vibes. I chose the “As You Wish” ring (see it here: HERE) and a simple ring fashioned like a twig. Both are made with recycled silver, and the “As You Wish” ring is made features a green amethyst. I chose these rings because the vine design on the bigger one and the twig design of the smaller one represent my love of nature and earth so deeply, and the engraving makes it extra special. I chose “Mrs. Edmonds”, my married name, as my engraving. I’m in love with these rings! They are simply perfect for me.

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 2.28.22 PM

Photo: She’s So Eco

Jordan’s ring was also handcrafted. From NaturalJewellery, a UK jewellery shop on Etsy, we chose a hammered, silver ring with a stunning thin copper band encircling the top. He gets compliments on it all the time! It was very affordable and extremely well-made. Find it HERE

il_570xN.490055240_7nlw

Photo: NaturalJewellery’s Etsy shop

The Dress:

I knew that I wanted a handmade dress right from the top. My budget was not huge, but I was not going to compromise on having the dress of my dreams, so I went on a hunt for the perfect wedding gown for me. In BLUSHFASHION’s Etsy shop, I found it, and I knew it was the right choice right away. I wanted a boho/garden fairy goddess vibe, and that’s exactly what I got with this dress. It’s a stunning dusty rose shade, with amazing bat sleeves. It’s flowy, comfortable, and super flattering. The best part is that I know I’ll wear it again! Made in Tel Aviv, Israel, this dress is made with Chiffon lyrca – not the most eco-friendly material on the planet, but it was just the perfect dress for me and I love that it’s handmade by an artisan, and I love that I was able to support a women-run small business by choosing this dress. I also went with the matching, satiny lining that is sold separately in BLISHFASHION’s Etsy shop. See it HERE, and find the dress itself HERE

SONY DSC

Photo: John Vis.

The Flower Girl:

Our sweet little girl looked positively magical in her custom handmade flower girl dress, by the one and only Jean of Little MoSo. Offering hand crafted, eco-friendly essentials and custom designs with a touch of whimsy and lots of heart, Little MoSo is based in Vancouver and is available online and at In Good Company in North Van. The care, time and effort Jean puts into her superior garments is simply amazing. The bodice of this dress is hand-crocheted with beautiful rhinestone embellishments, forested at the back with a stunning ribbon, and the skirt is comprised of layers and layers of soft pink tulle. To make matters even cuter, Jean added a removable sash that ties with ribbon at the back and features three crocheted roses, the middle of which has a jewel-encrusted centres. It’s just such a timeless, gorgeous dress that will get a lot of party and dress up wear!  littlemoso.com

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.43.43 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.45.28 PMunnamed

Top two photos: Suki Fox. Bottom photo: LittleMoso’s Instagram page.

The hair and makeup:

I was fortunate enough to have the very talented Hailey Avalon as my makeup artist. She is a dear friend and a very skilled artist- she gave me exactly the look I wanted, using clean, green products from brands like Elate Cosmetics (one of my faves- based in Victoria- you’ve seen them several times in my blog), Burts Bees, and Wildrose Magnolia.! She was a joy to work with-easygoing and sweet. I was so happy with my ethereal, pink-toned makeup! Get in touch with Hailey here while her website is under construction: https://www.facebook.com/HaileyAvalon She also does AMAZING lash extensions – best in Vancouver, trust me!

My hair was done by an equally talented lady, Laurie Richardson. A Vancouver Film School student and hair wizard, Laurie was laid-back, warm, and extremely skilled with those hands – let me tell you something, my hair is NOT easy to style, and she gave me EXACTLY what I wanted! Our officiant told me I looked like a maiden from A Midsummer Night’s Dream- precisely what I was going for!

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 2.27.55 PM copy Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.45.17 PM copy

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.45.41 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.45.55 PM

Top photo: Suki Fox. second photo: She’s So Eco. Third and fourth photo: Suki Fox.

The Groom:

Well, what can I say- we can’t be 100 percent eco all the time! His suit came from a well known men’s clothing store- and it’s not made with eco materials, nor is it handmade- but we had to make sure it fit and was perfect, so we chose that route. Isn’t he dashing, though? Look for him modelling Green Embassy ties in the blog within the next few days!

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 5.36.21 PM

Photo: Suki Fox

The Jewellery: I wore two necklaces, one for the ceremony and one for dinner afterwards. The first one was classic and dressy, a vintage choker with pretty pink crystals borrowed from Suki Fox. (You can see it well in the photo of my makeup above, the one that is spot into two pictures). The second (below) is a handmade, stunning necklace made by Suki Fox by hand. She is one of my dearest friends, and in fact was one of our witnesses (along with hubby Rhys- who you’ve seen in the He’s So Eco section of the blog) and their lovely son. Suki is an extremely talented artist and she tapped right into my love of nature, the earth and wildlife by including a rustic swallow and feathers in this unique and gorgeous necklace. Find Suki at https://www.facebook.com/misssukifoxdesigns?fref=ts

11938034_1124981614197980_8753213615553601812_n

Above: Rhys, Sepher and Suki ❤ I love these people so much! Below: me wearing my handmade necklace by Suki.

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 3.46.17 PM

Photo: John Vis

The Flowers came from my mother-in-law’s beautiful garden. They were the perfect white Calla Lilies. I adored them.

So, there you have it. It isn’t going to win any eco awards, but I think we did really well. Almost everything was handmade by artisans, many of them local, our wedding did not produce any waste (no invitations, no programs, nothing was wasted or disposed of the entire day), and we did it in the beautiful Lighthouse Park, which celebrates our deep love of nature.

I’m thrilled to finally be able to share this post with you!

Consciously,

Stephanie

HUGE THANKS to our photographer John Vis: http://johnvis.wix.com

Here are a few of my favourites of the three of us, all by John Vis:

SONY DSC
SONY DSC
SONY DSC
SONY DSC
SONY DSC
SONY DSC
One thought on “My small, PERFECT Eco wedding!

  1. Congratulations! I think it was a lovely idea to get married like this. The big planning is the reason why me and my 10year long partner never got married, our families being from different countries makes it all so much harder. I would love a small ceremony in the forest ^.^ I love both rings and you look beautiful, I love the boho-fairy style *.*

Leave a Reply

