13 Days of Green Market Giving: Day 13

It’s been so much fun posting about the artisans, spirit and charm that North Vancouver’s Green Market is bursting with. This Lower Lonsdale shop is chock full of beautifully curated and diverse local gifts and goods. Over the course of this celebration, we’ve covered some pretty good ground! It’s been such a gift to learn about and cover everything these talented artisans have to offer – from organic tea to reclaimed woodwork, from handmade jewellery of all types to clean body and home care, and of course clothing, art, stocking stuffers, and so much more.

I hope I’ve inspired you to experience the magic of this wonderful little shop. Located at 7a Lonsdale ave, behind Raglan’s, Green Market is set in a heritage building, with beautiful wood floors and a quaint shabby chic aesthetic. The place radiates a friendly, down-to-earth energy that is not to be missed. A deep camaraderie and intense combined passion is evident the instant you step through the Green Market door.

Today marks the  final post in this year’s feature (I hope to do this again next year!) and it’s a little on the bittersweet side for me. I do find myself  a bit of relieved (because, like everyone else, I’m feeling the big countdown hard, and I have so much wrapping, shopping, losing my mind, baking, and general chaos to engage in, it’s going to take every ounce of energy I’ve got!)

Be that as it may, I’m already feeling a bit nostalgic about it.  I’ve grown rather attached to these daily postings. It’s safe to say the Green Market has become a huge part of my brain, heart and vocabulary as of late, so I am a little sad to close this feature out. The good news is that I plan to promote, review and experience Green Market a LOT in 2016, so stay tuned!

DSC_0958

But I digress. On with the show! Last but definitely not least, ladies and gentlemen, I give you Studio Aroma.

I actually first caught wind of this hand-blended, clean luxury skincare brand on Instagram. I remember thinking that I should get in touch with them, and I posted a comment on a photo their feed. The modern, elegant packaging was what grabbed me first. It’s totally appealing- all that minimalistic glass and white had me at hello.

But what sealed the deal was the impressive list of ingredients- I was really excited to see the premium, at times exotic, naturally potent contents of this line. I must have put the idea of a collaboration out into the Universe in a big way, because a few days after my Instagram discovery, I found out that the brand was actually a new arrival to Green Market. Awesome timing, right? The next thing I knew, I was at the store, meeting with founder (and all-around sweetheart)  Jennifer Chow, my jaw nearly hitting the floor as she gifted me with close to the entire Studio Aroma collection.

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 11.15.13 PM.png

 

Above, a screenshot I snapped of a page on Studioaroma.com. I think it looks so clean and pretty- this is marketing done right. 

Prior to our meeting, Jennifer and I had exchanged messages about my skin type and concerns. She wanted to make sure she selected the right blends for me (she actually custom-made a Hydrosol Tonic mist specifically for my skin, and I LOVE it). I am as impressed by Jennifer’s knowledge, professionalism and devotion to her craft as I am by her outstanding products. She knows her stuff.

A certified aromatherapist and holistic practitioner (with qualifications in fields such as psychology, aromatherapy, chromo-therapy and massage), Jennifer began concocting her skincare blends to treat her own skin issues. Nothing was working for her skin, so she literally took matters into her own hands. It wasn’t long before Jennifer was crafting products for friends and family. Soon enough, this turned into a thriving business.  Studio Aroma Holistic Essentials is  a thoughtful, broad range of results-driven natural skincare. It’s a luxury experience at affordable price points, which is really nice to see.

I saved this post for last because I like to use skincare products for a decent chunk of time before I review them. These reviews are based on short-term (two weeks) use, and I will revisit the products and offer my long-term thoughts in the new year. What I am confident saying is that I am head over heels for Studio Aroma.  Clean ingredients, superior performance, and handmade in Vancouver? Irresistible. Here are some of my current favourites, available at Green Market. They have become daily staples in my skincare routine.

*Photos by Stephanie Edmonds/She’s So Eco

Eye Serum, $28

eyeserum1
This is a best-selling product, and I’m starting to see why. Full of unique ingredients I’ve not seen before in skincare (such as smoothing aspen bark extract and healing arnica extract), this golden-coloured, lightweight serum has a base of nourishing, anti-aging Aloe Vera leaf juice. I was especially excited about this product, given that some of my main skincare issues are dark circles and bags under my eyes due to lack of proper sleep (I know, tsk, tsk), as well as fine lines that are, to my unending dismay, starting to pop up in that area. Jennifer instructed me to apply it morning and night, using an upward motion, which I have been doing for two weeks now.
eyeserum
While I haven’t noticed any significant change in the dark circles (yet! – this is more of a long-term result, so stay tuned), I have definitely seen a visible reduction in the excess baggage, and a firmer, more toned eye area. This serum absorbs quickly and easily, without residue or film. I can actually feel the skin tighten right after I apply it- and I love that, because it tells me the product is doing its job. I don’t find it to be particularly hydrating, but that’s not what I’m using it for, nor is it the purpose of the product. I’m looking for de-puffing, firming, and anti-aging, and this seems to already be making a difference in those departments. If it reduces my dark circles in the coming weeks, it’ll be worth its weight in gold. For now, I’d say it’s worth at least its weight in sterling silver. (And guys, I really, really like sterling silver.)
Ingredients: Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Water, Damask Rose Hydrosol, Samphire Extract, Myrtle Leaf Extract, Rye Seed Extract, Linseed Extract, Lupine Extract, Aspen Bark Extract, Eyebright Extract, Roman Chamomile Hydrosol, Cassia Angustifolia Seed Polysaccharide, Gingseng Extract, Arnica Extract
Moisture Cream, $24/1 oz
cream1
This. Moisturizer. Is. Divine. It’s super creamy, somehow very rich and quite light simultaneously. I find myself reaching for this day and night. It readily absorbs without any sticky or greasy remnants, but the hydration and softness it imparts sticks around all day. If you like having your face intensely moisturized, this if for you. If you like quenched skin without the chemicals, this is for you. If you like your face to feel like silk and look instantly fresh and glowing, this is definitely for you. Chock full of hydrating, protective and regenerative ingredients such as Pomegranate Extract, Organic Kiwi Oil and Botanical Hyaluronic Acid, this is one facial cream you MUST try.
cream.jpg
Ingredients: Vitamin A, Pomegranate Extract, Rosehip Oil, Organic Sea Buckthorn Oil, Organic Kiwi Oil, Vitamin B5, Grape Seed Extract, Lecithin, Cassia Angustifolia Seed Polysaccharide (Botanical Hyaluronic Acid)
Rosey Collagen Serum, $30/1 Fl Oz
DSC_1039
According to Studioaroma.com,  “Marine collagen complex helps to rapidly repair damaged collagen fibers, significantly soothes deep wrinkles and allows skin to remain smooth and firm”.
This sounds about right to me. I was a little bit cautious at first because of the undisclosed “marine collagen complex”, but I also understand the need for formulators to keep their proprietary blends under wraps. Still, I rarely use anything with a proprietary blend, simply because if I don’t know what’s in it, I’m not comfortable using it. Jennifer eased my mind by giving me enough information on this that I am comfortable to assure myself and you that it is on hundred percent safe and natural.
As for the serum itself? It’s amazing. It’s got a gel texture, different from most serums, which tend to be quite oily. It’s really nice and light, and it penetrates the skin deeply, leaving a fast-acting refreshed, rosy glow. No kidding! I’ve definitely noticed firmer skin since using this line, and I’m sure this serum has a lot to do with that. As for deep wrinkles, I’m only just starting to see deeper lines in my forehead and a bit around my mouth (sigh), and time will tell whether this helps to reduce them. Studio Aroma’s Rosey Collagen Serum is not going to give you drastic surgery-like results (because, sorry darling, but nothing is, except, well, surgery), but I have certainly noticed more sculpted, toned skin since using it.

Ingredients: Organic Rose / Cornflower / Sandalwood Hydrosol, Honey Extract, Marine Collagen Complex, Cassia Angustifolia Seed Polysaccharide (Botanical Hyaluronic Acid), Vitamine E, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B6

And now for our giveaway item!

Multi Purpose Balm, $18/1 Oz

balm

I love me a good multi-use product, and friends, this one is awesome. With rich, ultra-moisturizing African Golden Shea Butter and a variety of oils like healing calendula, soothing chamomile and hydrating Golden Jojoba, this powerhouse aids everything from dry skin to cracked heels and hands, rashes, and minor inset bites and cuts. Balmy but not sticky, with a gentle scent that leans towards the chamomile, you’ll want one in your purse and another in your medicine cabinet.

 

balm2

Ingredients:  African Golden Shea Butter, Carrier Oils (Chickweed, Marshmallow, Calendula, Comfrey, Golden Jojoba), Essential Oils (Blue Tansy, Roman Chamomile, Frankincense)

Jennifer has generously offered to give away one Multi Purpose Balm to a lucky Instagram follower- the giveaway will open Tuesday December 22nd, 2015 and the winner will be randomly selected on December 31st, 2015. The lucky winner will be announced on New Year’s Day, 2016! Watch for my giveaway post on Instagram (@shesoeco). All you have to do is follow me and  @studio_aroma on Instagram, like my giveaway post, and comment tagging two friends (on the Instagram post only!) Bonus entry if you repost my Instagram giveaway post and tag @shesoeco and @studio_aroma. Good luck!

I want to extend my deepest thanks to Green Market and all the artisans who participated in this gratifying and fun blog feature. I really love Green Market and the values it embodies. Supporting local, shopping small and buying handmade – these are all such important things, and Green Market embraces them wholeheartedly. I hope you get the chance to experience this amazing store for yourself.

Lastly, thanks to everyone who read, followed, liked and shared these posts.

I wish you all a joyous holiday season and the happiest, healthiest, cleanest New Year!

With local love,

Stephanie

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to reward myself with a hot bath and Studio Aroma’s Chocolate Rosehip Mask. And yes, that was foreshadowing at its finest.

Happy holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

